Switch Theme:

Dreadclaw/kharybis and transport restrictions.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ok, maybe i'm over thinking but is it possible to mix different legion/mark units within a dreadclaw?

The wording is "This model can transport 10 <LEGION> or <MARK OF CHAOS> INFANTRY models." (the faq changed the wording on transporting helbrutes, but this part is the same)

So for example, I have a BLACK LEGION TZEENTCH Dreadclaw.

Could I put a BLACK LEGION KHORNE unit in it?

Could I put a THOUSAND SONS TZEENTCH unit in it?

Could I put both in it at the same time?

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You assign it a Legion when adding to your force, right? So the bracketed <LEGION> placeholder is no longer a catch-all, and will only refer to the Legion you picked. That's how I understand it.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 JohnnyHell wrote:
You assign it a Legion when adding to your force, right? So the bracketed <LEGION> placeholder is no longer a catch-all, and will only refer to the Legion you picked. That's how I understand it.

Yes that's right, but not what I'm asking. The transport restriction has an alternative to legion.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Captyn_Bob wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
You assign it a Legion when adding to your force, right? So the bracketed <LEGION> placeholder is no longer a catch-all, and will only refer to the Legion you picked. That's how I understand it.

Yes that's right, but not what I'm asking. The transport restriction has an alternative to legion.


Well same applies to Mark. You pick a Mark for the pod and that replaces the placeholder. So no mixing Tzeentch and Khorne units, though as you say there are two transport Keyword options so you could have some <Legion> and some purely <Mark> occupants. Your example seems sound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/09 10:14:46


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

Lore wise I wouldn't recommend it unless you want the pod to open with nothing more than blood and guts spilling out into the interior.

As for rule wise, your example seems sound thanks purely to the "or" clause only requiring one of the two keywords to be fulfilled to be within the requirements.

5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dont know what you mean.. . I'm Sure A Thousand Sons sorceror would love to share a confined space with some khorne possessed.
1

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Captyn_Bob wrote:
Ok, maybe i'm over thinking but is it possible to mix different legion/mark units within a dreadclaw?

The wording is "This model can transport 10 <LEGION> or <MARK OF CHAOS> INFANTRY models." (the faq changed the wording on transporting helbrutes, but this part is the same)

So for example, I have a BLACK LEGION TZEENTCH Dreadclaw.

Could I put a BLACK LEGION KHORNE unit in it?

Could I put a THOUSAND SONS TZEENTCH unit in it?

Could I put both in it at the same time?
The Stepping into a New Edition FAQ offers some guidance.

Q: A Space Marine Apothecary’s Narthecium ability says to select a ‘friendly <Chapter> Infantry or Biker
unit’. Does this mean ‘a friendly <Chapter> Infantry or <Chapter> Biker unit’ or can it be used to affect Biker units from other Chapters?
A: It means ‘<Chapter> Infantry or <Chapter> Biker’ – you cannot select a Biker unit from a different Chapter.

To me it would seem that the restriction actually is <LEGION> INFANTRY or <MARK OF CHAOS> INFANTRY

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/09 13:45:26


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Agree, the wording isn't bypassing infantry as a requirement.

DFTT 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: