Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 04:55:50
Subject: Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DTTFE allows extra attacks on 6's to hit.
Crimson Crown allows extra attacks on 6's to Wound.
Does the clause "cannot generate extra attacks" prohibit DTTFE's bonus attack from triggering the extra Crimson Crown attack if the wound roll on that DTTFE bonus is a 6?
Likewise, does a Crimson Crown 6 to wound's extra attack prohibit a DTTFE bonus attack if the attack granted from Crimson Crown is a 6?
Asking for my possessed / warp talons / daemon prince, that can benefit from the Crimson Crown aura.
My game store and all the people I play with say that theoretically, these are exclusive buffs and non-prohibitive, and could generate a lot of attacks on chain 6's to hit/wound.
I want to believe!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 04:58:30
Subject: Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
Yes, this works.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/26 04:58:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 05:24:46
Subject: Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Both rules say the bonus attacks cannot generate any further attacks.
On what basis then are you trying to generate any further attacks from these bonus attacks?
On the basis of what both rules plainly say, no, it doesn't work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 10:47:41
Subject: Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Both rules say the bonus attacks cannot generate any further attacks.
On what basis then are you trying to generate any further attacks from these bonus attacks?
On the basis of what both rules plainly say, no, it doesn't work.
Agreed.
The abilities simply say the extra attacks cannot generate other extra attacks. They don't specify or restrict what rule this applies to, so it applies to all sources of extra attacks. Therefore an attack generated by one rule cannot generate attacks using the other rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 13:00:42
Subject: Re:Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
basically. the original attacks can both benefit from both rules (DTTFE and Crimson crown)
So you get all your attacks, in this scenario we go with 6
6 (To hit 6's) = 6 extra = 6 total
6 (Extra to hit) = 6 = 12 total
12 (Extra's to wounds) = 12 total
6 (To wound 6's originals) = 6 Extra = 12 total wounds
6 extra Hits then wounds = 18 Total wounds ( Before damage)
---------------------------------------
Sorry if this looks a little complicated, but basically each rule doesnt work with each other but work on the original amount of attacks to generate extra attacks.
It's like how Scarbrand, in a lighning in a bottle moment, could theoretically get a total of 200 wounds with his axes if you roll 6's for all of his attacks
(8 base @ last bracket + 1 charge + 1 aura > 2 hit for one attack with axe > 6 to hit count as 2 successful hit rolls > 6 to wound > back to to hit rolls + wounds
(8+2) * (2) * (2) = W1 = A2 * (2) * (2) = W2 = Total
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/26 13:01:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/26 18:39:28
Subject: Death to the False Emperor + Crimson Crown
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I appreciate the breakdown.
The people who said the gimmick works couldn't find any ruling explicitly stating one buff prevents the other, including me.
I understand that it shouldn't work, as the recent posters pointed out. We just couldn't find the GW language that clarifies.
So in the future, I will have to roll the extra attack dice separately in order to not cheat in this situation.
|
|
 |
 |
|