Switch Theme:

Plaguebearers are not Death Guard  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





This isn't really a question, more of an observation to confirm reading.

But plaguebearers, and the other daemons, from Codex Death Guard are not actually Death Guard.

This codex defines a Death Guard detachment as one that contains only Death Guard units.

This means that an army of one detachment consisting solely of units chosen from Codex Death Guard, so long as it includes one of those units, is not a Death Guard detachment, and cannot make use of any Stratagems or Inexorable Advance contained therein.

Correct?

Just kind of strange that all the contents of a codex are not their own faction.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes correct.

DFTT 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

They're in there for summoning purposes via Daemonic Ritual.

Nurglings specifically are in there for a better datasheet for Nurgle Daemons players to use.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It's common belief that Plaguebearers, etc. are in Codex Death Guard so you can use the Daemonic Ritual rule and summon these units without needing another codex.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: