Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 18:35:25
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So here is the question, and I apologize if this has already come up before but I didn't find it when looking.
Drop pod with marines lands within 12" of hellblasters. Auspex scan says
"Use this Stratagem immediately after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements within 12" of one of your ADEPTUS ASTARTES Infantry units. Your unit can immediately shoot at that enemy unit as if it were the Shooting phase, but you must subtract 1 from all the resulting hit rolls."
Now the question is I believe it's been discussed and agreed that auspex scan can only hit the drop pod, not the units in it correct? My feeling is
A. The drop pod is the unit arriving, you can scan and shoot at that.
B. If you chose not too then the marines get out and you can not scan them because they are just passengers much like you can't shoot marines in a rhino with scan when they get out.
C. If you shoot and destroy the pod it happens after the pod lands but before the guys get out so the marines inside would have to disembark much like again marines in a rhino when the rhino dies.
Is this the correct interpretation of order of events? This also applys to forwarn I assume as well?
Just checking before I try to drop marines in within 15" of hellblasters and it causes a potential issue. I don't want to try this if I have my idea wrong.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/05 18:36:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 18:46:12
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
yea unless they faq it i'd play it exactly as you have described
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 20:57:43
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The drop pod arrives, and ya don’t use the stratagem. Then the marines disembark and you choose to use the stratagem because they have just arrived as reinforcements.
S
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 21:28:33
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
As Lungpickle says, you can use the stratagem on the disembarking unit as, even disembarking, they're still being set up having arrived as reinforcements as required for the stratagem.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 21:42:25
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
To quote myself from https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/744062.page#9687831
BaconCatBug wrote:We've had this discussion multiple times.
The rules simply don't give enough information. It's just as valid to argue that the drop pod is the only one arriving and the models inside are disembarking, as it is to argue that both units began the turn off the board and arrived on the board that turn, thus count as reinforcements.
It needs errata, but GW won't give us that because it would mean admitting they are bad writers. We'll get a special snowflake FAQ ruling if we get anything at all.
Discuss it pre-game is all I can say.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/05 21:44:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/05 22:41:28
Subject: Drop pod vs auspex scan?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks, I will just talk to my group and see what they say. I can see both sides of the argument, hence why I asked. :p
|
|
 |
 |
|