Switch Theme:

Chapter Approved Roving Patrol and Tyranid Tunnel Strike Strategm  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So can't remember the name of the Tunnel Strike Stratagem that Tyranids get, but it's the one that's jormungadr (the +1 cover save hive fleet) exclusive. It allows a unit for 1 command point to be deployed in the tunnels w/ Raveners, Trygon, Mawloc, and deploy with them as long as all models stay within 3".

Now for that stratagem it mentions that you do this during deployment, whereas roving patrol states when you roll the unit to come on, it then deploys via deep strike if it has it. Now my question is, would this stratagem work w/ this mission type? Other than the first squad coming in, could the rest of the army say they are going to tunnel deploy and then hope one of the tunneling units comes on? My opponent Had a squad of ravener is reserve for his 1/3 of the army that deployed, and the rest of them he failed to roll to have them come on. He then rolled for 2 squads of 20 Genestealers to come on the table, but stated since none of the tunneling guys showed up, he'll just wait for turn 2 to bring them in. Is this legal?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






They come in whenever you set up a "unit of Raveners, a Mawloc, Trygon or a Trygon Prime". If you happen to roll and get such a unit, the unit deployed in the tunnels gets to come along too.

Worst case scenario they will arrive on turn 2 at the latest.

However, I can easily see the argument that the mission rule prevents you from placing the unit "within
tunnels bored before battle", since they have to go into "Reserves" as specified by the rule.

Chalk this up to another "Not enough information to clear up contradictory instructions" situation.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/03/05 23:10:30


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Yeah, I let him do it also due to how ambiguous the rules were. Just seems super strong.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: