Switch Theme:

Deffkopta units and multiple bigbomms  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




New to 40k, had this come up in my last game.

I flew a unit of 3 deffkoptas over a 5 man squad of space marines and had each drop its bombs on the unit. My thought was that each one had a bomm so each could drop one and cause 5 rolls, for 15 total roles.

My opponent said that I could only force a max of 5 rolls, as that is the size of the unit.

Bigbomm: A Deffkopta equipped with a bigbomm can drop it as it flies over enemy units in the movement phase. After the Deffkopta has moved, pick one enemy unit that it flew over. Then, roll a d6 for each model in the enemy unit(up to a maximum of 5 dice). For each roll of a 5+, the target unit suffers 1 mortal wound. It can only do this once per battle.


Would like to get a ruling on this as I am playing him again tonight, thanks guys
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






pokeyloams wrote:
New to 40k, had this come up in my last game.

I flew a unit of 3 deffkoptas over a 5 man squad of space marines and had each drop its bombs on the unit. My thought was that each one had a bomm so each could drop one and cause 5 rolls, for 15 total roles.

My opponent said that I could only force a max of 5 rolls, as that is the size of the unit.

Bigbomm: A Deffkopta equipped with a bigbomm can drop it as it flies over enemy units in the movement phase. After the Deffkopta has moved, pick one enemy unit that it flew over. Then, roll a d6 for each model in the enemy unit(up to a maximum of 5 dice). For each roll of a 5+, the target unit suffers 1 mortal wound. It can only do this once per battle.


Would like to get a ruling on this as I am playing him again tonight, thanks guys
Your opponent is wrong. Each Bigbomm rolls totally independently from each other. By his logic a unit of Marines with Bolters only rolls 1 roll to hit because Bolters are Rapid Fire 1.

You have three totally independent rules telling you to "roll a d6 for each model in the enemy unit(up to a maximum of 5 dice)." If you move over a unit of 10 models, and launch 3 bigbomms, you roll 5 for each.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/11 18:44:07


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks man, thats exactly what I thought.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

would the order of them be all at once though?

e.g. is it ore like
roll 5 - kill one
roll 4 - kill two
roll 2

 
   
Made in gb
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta






 Latro_ wrote:
would the order of them be all at once though?

e.g. is it ore like
roll 5 - kill one
roll 4 - kill two
roll 2

Yea, I think it resolves like this. The rule specifically says roll for each model in the unit. If there's only 4 models because you killed 1 you only roll 4 dice.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Latro_ wrote:
would the order of them be all at once though?

e.g. is it ore like
roll 5 - kill one
roll 4 - kill two
roll 2
Assuming it's a 5 model unit then yes

The bombs happen simultaneously but the sequencing rules tell you to resolve one at a time , so when the 2nd bomb goes off it only sees 4 models so only rolls 4 dice
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: