Switch Theme:

Couple rules questions.. can I shoot after disembark from a transport in a fight.. etc..  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





So,
we had a game today and couple of questions we couldn't google fast enough..

So here they are:

1. Can you disembark from a transport which is in a combat and make a normal turn? We ruled it that you can.

2. Can you fire overwatch if you have fled from combat on your own turn? We ruled that you can't. (In our case it was the same "turn number".

3. Can you charge through a character? We ruled that you had to make a multi-charge.

These we couldn't google fast enough to not stall our gaming.. Took over 5h to complete a 2k game, even without slow playing from either of us. So many dice, so many dice.. Thanks for answers.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Xirax wrote:
1. Can you disembark from a transport which is in a combat and make a normal turn? We ruled it that you can.
Yes. Nothing prevents it and the rules for transports allow you to disembark so long as there is room. Edit: Of course as per the usual transport rules, you count as moving.
Xirax wrote:
2. Can you fire overwatch if you have fled from combat on your own turn? We ruled that you can't. (In our case it was the same "turn number".
Yes, you can. "Turn" means one players actions. "Battle round" means both players have a "Turn". You can't (normally, Soulburst is an exception) be charged in the same "Turn" as you fall back, so you can fire overwatch just fine in the next "Turn" when your opponent charges you. The first page of the Core Rules, under "The Battle Round", defines this.
Xirax wrote:
3. Can you charge through a character? We ruled that you had to make a multi-charge.
It depends what you mean by "through". If you mean physically though, then no, unless you can FLY. If you mean "Passing within 1" of the character", then also no, you have to multi-charge.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2018/03/15 20:10:31


 
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





It depends what you mean by "though". If you mean physically though, then no, unless you can FLY. If you mean "Passing within 1" of the character", then also no, you have to multi-charge.


Charging needs to be a straight line? Unless you can fly over.. right?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Xirax wrote:
It depends what you mean by "though". If you mean physically though, then no, unless you can FLY. If you mean "Passing within 1" of the character", then also no, you have to multi-charge.


Charging needs to be a straight line? Unless you can fly over.. right?
No, charging doesn't have to be a straight line. All it has to be is so no model actually moves more than those inches accounting for terrain and other models (and gets to within 1" of course), and that the target unit is within 12". You can charge around corners and other models etc just fine. You don't even need LOS.

Models that can fly can ignore other models when moving. That includes movement during the Charge and Fight Phase.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/03/15 20:09:13


 
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





 BaconCatBug wrote:
All it has to be is so no model actually moves more than those inches accounting for terrain and other models (and gets to within 1" of course), and that the target unit is within 12".


To expand on this, only one model from the charging unit needs to end its charge move within 1" of at least one model from at least one of the charge target units. It is not necessary that all models from the charging unit end their charge move within 1".

"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Just to expand on disembarking
Are you allowed to place a disembarking model within 1 inch of an enemy model?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Ice_can wrote:
Just to expand on disembarking
Are you allowed to place a disembarking model within 1 inch of an enemy model?
No. The rules for movement within the Movement Phase still apply. However, disembarking models do not "move", they are "set up". So you can pass "over" models surrounding the transport to deploy legally past them.

For example, if a Rhino was surrounded entirely by Gretchin, 1 rank deep, you could still disembark because you can easily place marines within 3" of the Rhino but also more than 1" from the Gretchin. However, if it was so entirely surrounded that you could not do this, then the unit cannot disembark.

Quick and Dirty Mockup of what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/IHwOiHa.png
Spoiler:

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2018/03/16 20:29:57


 
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Ice_can wrote:
Just to expand on disembarking
Are you allowed to place a disembarking model within 1 inch of an enemy model?
No. The rules for movement within the Movement Phase still apply. However, disembarking models do not "move", they are "set up". So you can pass "over" models surrounding the transport to deploy legally past them.

For example, if a Rhino was surrounded entirely by Gretchin, 1 rank deep, you could still disembark because you can easily place marines within 3" of the Rhino but also more than 1" from the Gretchin. However, if it was so entirely surrounded that you could not do this, then the unit cannot disembark.

Quick and Dirty Mockup of what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/IHwOiHa.png
Spoiler:


This diagram only applies to situations where the surrounding unit is base to base with the vehicle. Keeping your surrounding unit just inside of 1" from the vehicle, it makes it nearly impossible for a disembarking unit to be legally placed.

"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Cadian16th wrote:
This diagram only applies to situations where the surrounding unit is base to base with the vehicle. Keeping your surrounding unit just inside of 1" from the vehicle, it makes it nearly impossible for a disembarking unit to be legally placed.
Correct, but my point was to show that models who disembark can't be stopped by other models preventing them from "moving" through them, since disembarking doesn't move the models, it sets them up.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks for the diagram BCB I didn't have my rule book to double check I wasn't remebering some 2-7th edition rule instead of an 8th edition rule.
   
Made in dk
Regular Dakkanaut



Denmark

I hope it's okay I piggyback, I saw the questions about charges and have been wondering about:

What happens if you choose two targets for a charge, and can only reach one with your role?
Can you chose targets that are further away then 12"?

Exampel: if there's a character within 3 of the the unit you are charging, should you then just auto-include him in the charge, because he will, most likely do a Heroic Intervention?

3000 point  
   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





FunJohn wrote:


What happens if you choose two targets for a charge, and can only reach one with your role?



As long as you end your charge move within 1" of one or more model from a unit you charged, the charge was successful and the unit may then fight in the subsequent Fight phase.

FunJohn wrote:

Can you chose targets that are further away then 12"?



Page 182 of the BRB: "[S]elect one or more enemy units within 12"", so no.

FunJohn wrote:

Exampel: if there's a character within 3 of the the unit you are charging, should you then just auto-include him in the charge, because he will, most likely do a Heroic Intervention?


It really depends on what sort of Overwatch you will be receiving by doing so.

"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."

-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






FunJohn wrote:
What happens if you choose two targets for a charge, and can only reach one with your role?
Can you chose targets that are further away then 12"?

Exampel: if there's a character within 3 of the the unit you are charging, should you then just auto-include him in the charge, because he will, most likely do a Heroic Intervention?
Both get to overwatch you. If you can't make it to the further one, you can just move towards the closer one. This is a viable and legal tactic, since you suffer both overwatches. You can never charge a unit more than 12" away unless a special rule says otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/17 20:53:09


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





FunJohn wrote:
I hope it's okay I piggyback, I saw the questions about charges and have been wondering about:

What happens if you choose two targets for a charge, and can only reach one with your role?
Can you chose targets that are further away then 12"?

Exampel: if there's a character within 3 of the the unit you are charging, should you then just auto-include him in the charge, because he will, most likely do a Heroic Intervention?


As the others said, you can't declare further away than 12".

As long as you get within 1" of one of the two, the charge is successful. It might be that a pile in move can bring you within 1" of the second unit; you'd be able to attack them that turn as you charged that unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: