Switch Theme:

Advance and Smoke  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

Quick one and couldent find it in a search or FAQ

Say my defiler advances can it still smoke in 8th. Wording of the rules seems to have maybe some wiggle room to allow it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/16 11:00:08


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




As far as i am aware yes you can.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The wording in the SM codex is "Once per game, instead of shooting
any weapons in the Shooting phase, this model can use
its smoke launchers; until your next Shooting phase
your opponent must subtract 1 from all hit rolls for
ranged weapons that target this vehicle." nothing about not being allowed to advance in the movement phase. all it says is that the smoke is used in the shooting phase

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/16 11:09:10


 
   
Made in be
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Belgium

Yes you can... it's instead of shooting and when you advance you can still have a (limited) shooting phase

Imperials fists 2060 Orks 1100
Firestorm and Star Wars Armada 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The FAQ specifically allows this, yes. Abilities used instead of shooting can be done so long as the unit does not shoot, whether that be because they choose not to shoot or because they aren't allowed to shoot (e.g. after Advancing).

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






From the Rulebook FAQ:
Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: Can abilities that are used ‘instead of shooting’, such as Smoke Launchers, be used if the model using them has Fallen Back, Advanced or has enemy models within 1" of it?
A: Yes. A model can use such an ability so long as it does not shoot – it does not matter whether this is because the model cannot shoot or it chooses not to.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: