Switch Theme:

Partial embarkation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block



UK

This has almost certainly been asked before, but a search found nothing (possibly due to my own ineptitude) so here goes:

My infantry unit is partially within movement range of a transport which can transport it. Can part of the unit embark, or do they all stay off until all can embark next turn?

Potentially redundant follow-up:
If they can partially embark, how does that affect:
- movement of the transport
- the transport being charged and fought
- anything else anyone can think of!

Thanks for your time.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






dode74 wrote:
This has almost certainly been asked before, but a search found nothing (possibly due to my own ineptitude) so here goes:

My infantry unit is partially within movement range of a transport which can transport it. Can part of the unit embark, or do they all stay off until all can embark next turn?

Potentially redundant follow-up:
If they can partially embark, how does that affect:
- movement of the transport
- the transport being charged and fought
- anything else anyone can think of!

Thanks for your time.
BRB Page 183 wrote:Embark: If all models in a unit end their move within 3" of a friendly transport, they can embark within it.
So, in a word, No.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/17 22:01:42


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block



UK

Thank you - there I was looking through the core and movement sections and didn't see that panel. Makes sense, ofc.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Similarly you can't embark one squad across two vehicles.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

 JohnnyHell wrote:
Similarly you can't embark one squad across two vehicles.


Which is an entirely accurate reading of a rule that really disappoints. 20 man CSM squads with no way to get where they are going because they can't figure out how to use more than one Rhino. Jeesh.

   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Keep in mind that the models dont have to be fully within 3" from the transport. SM have a stratagem that can split a 10 model unit in two 5 model units, which allows half of the unit to embark, because they are now two seperate units.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: