| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 13:55:43
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
quick question from our last multiplayer game and the wording around the exploding-rule.
When a vehicle/monster explodes: Do you roll 1D3 and and every unit gehts the result in MW, or do you roll 1D3 for each unit?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 14:22:38
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
Birmingham
|
Roll for each unit separately.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 14:31:52
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
but why? Explodes: If this model is reduced to 0 wounds, roll a D6 before removing the model from the battlefield; on a 6 it explodes, and each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds. What if the text said "and each unit within 6" suffers 2 mortal wounds."? Dont we just replace the D3 for the result of the D3 throw? Is there a hidden rule about D3/ D6 throws? Or is D3 the actual number and wont get replaced by the result in the rule and therefore every unit gets their seperate D3? thanks in advance!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/02 14:32:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 14:47:11
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 15:33:51
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ghaz wrote:The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
This. The order of the words is important here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 16:05:20
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Ghaz wrote:The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
The rule doesnt say roll D3 for each unit seperately either, or something similiar. Its only one D3 roll for every unit within 6".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 16:07:59
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
p5freak wrote: Ghaz wrote:The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
The rule doesnt say roll D3 for each unit seperately either, or something similiar. Its only one D3 roll for every unit within 6".
It says each unit suffers D3 wounds, which does require you to roll a D3 for each unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 16:17:29
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Ghaz wrote: p5freak wrote: Ghaz wrote:The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
The rule doesnt say roll D3 for each unit seperately either, or something similiar. Its only one D3 roll for every unit within 6".
It says each unit suffers D3 wounds, which does require you to roll a D3 for each unit.
No. Its only one roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 16:23:42
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No, because then the unit does not suffer D3 wounds but instead a predetermined number of wounds. You're literally trying to rewrite the rules to say "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". Is that what the rule says?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 16:52:28
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote: Ghaz wrote: p5freak wrote: Ghaz wrote:The rule says '... each unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds...." and not "... roll a D3 and each unit within 6" suffers that many mortal wounds...". You resolve the D3 roll for each unit within 6" to determine how many mortal wounds that unit suffers.
The rule doesnt say roll D3 for each unit seperately either, or something similiar. Its only one D3 roll for every unit within 6".
It says each unit suffers D3 wounds, which does require you to roll a D3 for each unit.
No. Its only one roll.
Incorrect. You roll for each unit. If you roll a d3 and get a 2 and apply to each unit, you haven’t rolled a d3 for that unit. You’ve just applied two.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 17:05:48
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Interesting. I never thought twice about this. Every game of 8th I've played both me and my opponents have rolled for each individual unit. No one has ever questioned it or said otherwise.
I'm in the roll for each unit camp otherwise I think it would say something along the lines of "Roll a D3 and each unit with 6" suffers that many mortal wounds." instead of the current wording.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 17:07:27
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Incorrect. You roll for each unit. If you roll a d3 and get a 2 and apply to each unit, you haven’t rolled a d3 for that unit. You’ve just applied two.
Ah, ok. Now i see your point of view. I guess it can be seen that way, but i'm not 100% convinced.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 17:35:49
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
It is D3 for each unit. I've seen a few Youtubers do it the other way which is unfortunate as its spread that misinformed rules interpretation.
If you need something to wrap your head around, its obviously the shrapnel from the exploding vehicle doing the damage. It's random damage because its random pieces of wreckage flying in all directions.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 18:29:51
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
I'd agree it's not fully clear, though I'd lean towards the RAW being one roll per unit.
That being said, just ask your opponent/TO how you want to do it, and be consistent. It probably doesn't matter a ton which way you do it.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 21:04:12
Subject: Re:exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
okay thanks A LOT for the feedback!
i guess i am with the interpretation that D3 already is a "fixed" amount. (e.g. when rubric marines dont get their +1 save when a d3 dmg weapon hits. since its d3 dmg and not 1)
BRB p 176
Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice, sometimes abbreviated to D6. Some rules refer to 2D6, 3D6 and so on – in such cases, roll that many D6s and add the results together. If a rule requires you to roll a D3, roll a dice and halve the total. When halving any dice roll, round fractions up before applying modifiers (if any) to the result. All modifiers are cumulative. If a rule requires a dice roll of, for example, 3 or more, this is often
abbreviated to 3+.
this speaks for the 1D3 for everyone-interpretation
If you need something to wrap your head around, its obviously the shrapnel from the exploding vehicle doing the damage. It's random damage because its random pieces of wreckage flying in all directions.
but what if sometimes only the engine bursts into flames and sometimes the whole fuel ignites and explodes? the burning engine is less dangerous for every1 around
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 21:13:24
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Clousseau
|
Each unit suffers a dice roll in damage.
D3 should not be read as a variable. "Each unit suffers X wounds" because each instance of the dice can vary, and reading it this way implies that the X is constant across all units.
Since it specifically says each unit suffers D3 damage, that means you need to roll a D3 for each unit. D3 is not constant.
|
Galas wrote:I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you 
Bharring wrote:He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/02 22:14:08
Subject: exploding vehicles/monster
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
It’s a roll per unit. (Even BCB has changed his stance on this one to the correct one!)
Each unit suffers D3 wounds. D3 is not a fixed value so is rolled for every time, unless there’s also a special rule saying roll once and apply for all.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|