Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 14:20:26
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Steel Behemoth special rule:
"... It can also still fire its weapons if enemy units are within 1" of it (but only its twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer can target units that are within 1" of it - its other guns must target other units)..."
If I successfullly charge it with 1 unit, can it still overwatch the next unit that attempts a charge? If so, can it still use it's heavy flamers to overwatch the 2nd charger?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 14:23:06
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes to both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 14:24:37
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
tag8833 wrote:The Steel Behemoth special rule: "... It can also still fire its weapons if enemy units are within 1" of it (but only its twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer can target units that are within 1" of it - its other guns must target other units)..." If I successfullly charge it with 1 unit, can it still overwatch the next unit that attempts a charge? If so, can it still use it's heavy flamers to overwatch the 2nd charger?
Yes. It can still fire its weapons even if enemies are within 1". This is an explicit exemption from the normal rule prohibiting this. The rulebook says "it cannot fire if there are any enemy models within 1" of it." The Baneblade says "can also still fire its weapons if enemy units are within 1" of it". Since the entire game has to be based on specific overriding general, the Baneblade can shoot overwatch even if it's within 1", but not with it's twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/07 14:25:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 15:11:52
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dont have my rulebook to hand, but doesn't the rule for overwatch have conditions about not already being in combat?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 15:15:04
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ice_can wrote:Dont have my rulebook to hand, but doesn't the rule for overwatch have conditions about not already being in combat?
"A target unit can potentially fire Overwatch several times a turn, though it cannot fire if there are any enemy models within 1" of it." The Baneblade explicitly has an exemption to any "within 1 inch" restriction. There is no such thing as "in combat" in 8th. There is only "within 1 inch".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/07 15:16:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 17:07:44
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Yes to both questions.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 18:33:43
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote:...Since the entire game has to be based on specific overriding general, the Baneblade can shoot overwatch even if it's within 1", but not with it's twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer.
Why wouldn't it be able to fire overwatch with its "twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer"?
I see that only its twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer can target units that are within 1" of the vehicle, but surely these weapons do not have to only target those units right?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 18:59:17
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
DeathReaper wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:...Since the entire game has to be based on specific overriding general, the Baneblade can shoot overwatch even if it's within 1", but not with it's twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer.
Why wouldn't it be able to fire overwatch with its "twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer"?
I see that only its twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer can target units that are within 1" of the vehicle, but surely these weapons do not have to only target those units right?
Good point, the "only" is in the wrong place to deny that. Tricky English Grammar strikes again!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/07 18:59:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/07 23:04:59
Subject: Can a Baneblade still fire Overwatch if it is already within 1" of an Enemy Unit?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
DeathReaper wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:...Since the entire game has to be based on specific overriding general, the Baneblade can shoot overwatch even if it's within 1", but not with it's twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer.
Why wouldn't it be able to fire overwatch with its "twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer"?
I see that only its twin heavy bolters or twin heavy flamer can target units that are within 1" of the vehicle, but surely these weapons do not have to only target those units right?
Yep, BCB is 100% incorrect here. Allowing HBs and HFs to target units within 1” in no way prevents them shooting at stuff further away.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|