Switch Theme:

Necrons 8th Codex Orb of Eternity + Techromancy  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





Hi all, I have been looking for an answer to the following

So I have a Necron army and in 7th edition there was a rule under the reanimation protocols section that stated it could never be lower than a 4+, this was very well known and stopped it being OP.

But in 8th edition I could not find the same wording restriction in the Codex or the Index.... does that mean that it can get lowered to a 3+ with the Orb of Eternity + the Crypteks Technomancer ability?

Any help would be appreciated thanks

We Bring Death 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Vambroes wrote:

But in 8th edition I could not find the same wording restriction in the Codex or the Index.... does that mean that it can get lowered to a 3+ with the Orb of Eternity + the Crypteks Technomancer ability?

Yes.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Yeah, there's nothing stopping the orb and technomancer from stacking. The only restriction is that technomancer can't stack with itself.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Vambroes wrote:
Hi all, I have been looking for an answer to the following

So I have a Necron army and in 7th edition there was a rule under the reanimation protocols section that stated it could never be lower than a 4+, this was very well known and stopped it being OP.

But in 8th edition I could not find the same wording restriction in the Codex or the Index.... does that mean that it can get lowered to a 3+ with the Orb of Eternity + the Crypteks Technomancer ability?

Any help would be appreciated thanks
Unless otherwise stated, either though explicit exception (e.g. The cover rule not working on invulnerable saves), Special Snowflake FAQ (e.g. The Index version of The Red Grail), or by the wording of the rule only allowing the modification to apply once (e.g. Multiple Crypteks next to a unit), modifiers are cumulative.

In this instance, yes, the Orb of Eternity and Techromancy modifiers will be cumulative.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/05/08 13:57:32


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.


Others mileage might vary. They might like the idea of if they screw the pooch and roll 9 1's that they can spend the 2CP and have good odds of bringing back 6.
   
Made in nz
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Vambroes wrote:
Hi all, I have been looking for an answer to the following

So I have a Necron army and in 7th edition there was a rule under the reanimation protocols section that stated it could never be lower than a 4+, this was very well known and stopped it being OP.

But in 8th edition I could not find the same wording restriction in the Codex or the Index.... does that mean that it can get lowered to a 3+ with the Orb of Eternity + the Crypteks Technomancer ability?

Any help would be appreciated thanks
Unless otherwise stated, either though explicit exception (e.g. The cover rule not working on invulnerable saves), Special Snowflake FAQ (e.g. The Index version of The Red Grail), or by the wording of the rule only allowing the modification to apply once (e.g. Multiple Crypteks next to a unit), modifiers are cumulative.

In this instance, yes, the Orb of Eternity and Techromancy modifiers will be cumulative.



Excellent, thanks everyone for your replys, great to get some community input on this!

We Bring Death 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.


Others mileage might vary. They might like the idea of if they screw the pooch and roll 9 1's that they can spend the 2CP and have good odds of bringing back 6.


I think it has to be done BEFORE rolling for RP.

So you can't roll 5 1s and THEN pop it, you have to decide beforehand.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 JNAProductions wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.


Others mileage might vary. They might like the idea of if they screw the pooch and roll 9 1's that they can spend the 2CP and have good odds of bringing back 6.


I think it has to be done BEFORE rolling for RP.

So you can't roll 5 1s and THEN pop it, you have to decide beforehand.


Why? You wouldn't reroll until after you've rolled, so you should be able to decide after making the original roll if you want to pop the stratagem and reroll or not bother.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




Spoiler:
 doctortom wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.


Others mileage might vary. They might like the idea of if they screw the pooch and roll 9 1's that they can spend the 2CP and have good odds of bringing back 6.


I think it has to be done BEFORE rolling for RP.

So you can't roll 5 1s and THEN pop it, you have to decide beforehand.


Why? You wouldn't reroll until after you've rolled, so you should be able to decide after making the original roll if you want to pop the stratagem and reroll or not bother.


Depends on the wording. For example, Tau Bork'an stratagem that allows rerolling a weapon's d6 attacks has to be declared before the first d6 is rolled per FAQ.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Spoiler:
 doctortom wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Cheeslord wrote:
If it can be gotten to 3+, then the stratagem that lets you reroll 1 might actually be useful...


The stratagem is never worth it. Its 2 CP. Even if you roll 18 dice for RP only 3 will be 1s. One of those re-rolls will be a 3.


With no negative modifiers, actually 2 should be 3+


Ok, its two models you have reanimated for 2 CP and 35 pts. for the resurrection orb, plus the orb of eternity. Not worth it, IMHO.


Others mileage might vary. They might like the idea of if they screw the pooch and roll 9 1's that they can spend the 2CP and have good odds of bringing back 6.


I think it has to be done BEFORE rolling for RP.

So you can't roll 5 1s and THEN pop it, you have to decide beforehand.


Why? You wouldn't reroll until after you've rolled, so you should be able to decide after making the original roll if you want to pop the stratagem and reroll or not bother.


It's the Stratagem that makes you do that. I don't have a Crons Codex, but I believe it's worded "Before making Reanimation Protocol rolls, you may use this stratagem to reroll all 1s you roll for it" or something along those lines.

If someone with the codex can either confirm or deny that, that'd be appreciated.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 JNAProductions wrote:

It's the Stratagem that makes you do that. I don't have a Crons Codex, but I believe it's worded "Before making Reanimation Protocol rolls, you may use this stratagem to reroll all 1s you roll for it" or something along those lines.

If someone with the codex can either confirm or deny that, that'd be appreciated.


Yes, you have to use the strat before doing RP rolls for a unit. It may be worth using when deathwatch uses it anti RP strat, which is -1 to RP rolls. Then you can re-roll 1s and 2s with the strat.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 p5freak wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:

It's the Stratagem that makes you do that. I don't have a Crons Codex, but I believe it's worded "Before making Reanimation Protocol rolls, you may use this stratagem to reroll all 1s you roll for it" or something along those lines.

If someone with the codex can either confirm or deny that, that'd be appreciated.


Yes, you have to use the strat before doing RP rolls for a unit. It may be worth using when deathwatch uses it anti RP strat, which is -1 to RP rolls. Then you can re-roll 1s and 2s with the strat.


Until you remember that it's rerolls before modifiers
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Jacksmiles wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:

It's the Stratagem that makes you do that. I don't have a Crons Codex, but I believe it's worded "Before making Reanimation Protocol rolls, you may use this stratagem to reroll all 1s you roll for it" or something along those lines.

If someone with the codex can either confirm or deny that, that'd be appreciated.


Yes, you have to use the strat before doing RP rolls for a unit. It may be worth using when deathwatch uses it anti RP strat, which is -1 to RP rolls. Then you can re-roll 1s and 2s with the strat.


Until you remember that it's rerolls before modifiers


Damn, you are right
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
Damn, you are right
Indeed, it does make the stratagem useless. A Ghost Ark giving a second batch of rolls is superior in every respect.

This is tongue in cheek humour wrote:Meanwhile, In a Parallel Universe:
<Lengthy diatribe about how Re-rolls before Modifiers is RaW abuse and RaI you should get to do modifiers before Re-rolls because of reasons.>

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/05/09 22:57:44


 
   
Made in no
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Also I have never heard of anyone doing a 3+ RP roll in 8th, it's likely not an OP issue
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: