Switch Theme:

The end of any movement phase  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Furious Raptor




Gothenburg, Sweden

Can I choose which happens first if two rules specifically states they happen "at the end of any movement phase"? I.e can I teleport terminators and then enhance them with Fabius Bile at the end of the same movement phase?

Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith



United States

Don't they happen simultaneously in that case?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The active player decides in what order things that all happen at the same time happen. So yes you absolutely can deepstrike then have them enhanced if both happen at the end of the movement phase.

 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Things cannot happen simultaneously in Warhammer 40K. The rules specifically allows you to choose the order that such actions occur.
   
Made in se
Furious Raptor




Gothenburg, Sweden

Sweet! That was what I was hoping for !!

Peace is a lie, there is only passion...and bacon! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





This would probably run afoul of the same problem that arose when people wanted to use a stratagem on a unit that had come in from reserves. GW FAQ'd that to say that you can't use the stratagems at the end of the movement phase on something coming in from reserves at the end of the movement phase.

I'd be willing to bet GW would treat this the same way. Fabius Bile isn't enhancing the unit at the same time they arrive - he would be enhancing them in response to their showing up on the board. Since they show up at the end of the movement phase, however, you'd be trying to enhance them after the end of the movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 doctortom wrote:
This would probably run afoul of the same problem that arose when people wanted to use a stratagem on a unit that had come in from reserves. GW FAQ'd that to say that you can't use the stratagems at the end of the movement phase on something coming in from reserves at the end of the movement phase.

I'd be willing to bet GW would treat this the same way. Fabius Bile isn't enhancing the unit at the same time they arrive - he would be enhancing them in response to their showing up on the board. Since they show up at the end of the movement phase, however, you'd be trying to enhance them after the end of the movement phase.


Slight difference is that the Stratagems FAQd against were “during the Movement Phase” Strats, not “at the end of the Movement Phase” ones, no?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





True, those were during the Movement phase stratagems. Still, it would probably be a precedent they use for this.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

 doctortom wrote:
True, those were during the Movement phase stratagems. Still, it would probably be a precedent they use for this.
I disagree. GW were pointing out specifically that 'during the movement phase' did not equal 'at the end of the movement phase'. Since these are both 'at the end of the movement phase', they go off at the same time. The player who's turn it is then decides what order, allowing it happen as the OP wants without conflict.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: