Switch Theme:

Deathwatch dominos aegis  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




This relic gives a 5++ bubble if the character hasn’t moved in the previous movement phase. How does this work for turn one? Does it start “on”?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Skarsgard wrote:
This relic gives a 5++ bubble if the character hasn’t moved in the previous movement phase. How does this work for turn one? Does it start “on”?
Oh boy you've opened a can of worms with this one.

The simple tl;dr answer is we don't know, both arguments have merits.

Basically, the answer has two camps. The first state that because you haven't declared a move this game, you must have not moved, thus you benefit.

The second states that because there has not been a previous movement phase yet, it can't be active because you've not had a movement phase to not move in.

Until GW fixes it with errata or Special Snowflake FAQ, you have to debate pre-game with your opponent.

FWIW I would say that until GW says otherwise, they can't have the status of "does not move in your Movement phase" because they haven't had a movement phase to not move in, thus it doesn't work in the first turn if you're going 2nd.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/05/16 10:16:27


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If that is the correct wording, then it will always work in your opponents turn, except the movement phase, unless you have some way of moving in your opponents movement phase.

If the wording is "the bearers previous movement phase" (or something similar) then bcb is correct.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 99 of Codex Deathwatch:

In addition, if the bearer does not move in your Movement phase, then until the start of your next Movement phase, friendly DEATHWATCH models within 6" of the bearer gain a 5+ invulnerable save.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Ghaz wrote:
From page 99 of Codex Deathwatch:

In addition, if the bearer does not move in your Movement phase, then until the start of your next Movement phase, friendly DEATHWATCH models within 6" of the bearer gain a 5+ invulnerable save.
Which means on your opponents turn one, before you've had a turn, you can't have "not move[d] in your Movement phase", thus the bubble is not not.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: