Switch Theme:

Space wolves: saga of the warrior born warlord trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Been Around the Block




“You can always choose your warlord to attack first in the Fight phase even if he didnt charge. If the enemy has units that have charged, or that have a similar ability, then alternate chosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn is taking place.”

So if my warlord is already in a fight with unit A, but my opponent charges in with unit B, then the trait is annulled, and my enemy gets to pick ANY of his units to fight first (since it is his turn). In other words, you can counter this trait by charging in with chaff (unit B), and then pick your heavy hitter (unit A) to attack instead of the chaff that charged.

I cant read this any other way, but does this seem intentional? It is still a trait that will make your opponent think twice, but is countered very easily.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Unit A is not eligible to fight until all chargers are done (and other units with special rules)

In your scenario, he would have to pick unit B since it charged, then you fight with your Warlord, then unit A
   
Made in dk
Been Around the Block




So if i understand this correctly, the fight sequence can be divided between:

A: Units that have charged.

B: Units that haven’t charged.

Normally all units in poll A strike first (chargers), while units in poll B is activated alternately by each player.

But if a unit has an ability that grant them to strike first, then units in poll A is also activated alternately by each player? (Poll A including chargers and units with ‘strike first’ abilities)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/17 01:36:40


 
   
Made in hr
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Germany

Units that charged always fight first (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then units with special abilities like the SW warlord fight (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then players alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn it is.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought






 p5freak wrote:
Units that charged always fight first (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then units with special abilities like the SW warlord fight (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then players alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn it is.


The rule says the the SW Warlord fights at the same time as Chargers. He doesn’t go after all Chargers - player whose turn it is picks such a unit first then you alternate. Then repeat for non-Chargers.

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

 jojo_monkey_boy wrote:
Why are you guys all so obviously falling for that guy's trolling?
He's just one random guy on the internet with an opinion that is laughably divorced from reality. Move along.

 
   
Made in hr
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine





Germany

 JohnnyHell wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Units that charged always fight first (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then units with special abilities like the SW warlord fight (unless a special rule says otherwise). Then players alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn it is.


The rule says the the SW Warlord fights at the same time as Chargers. He doesn’t go after all Chargers - player whose turn it is picks such a unit first then you alternate. Then repeat for non-Chargers.


Yes, true.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: