| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:05:47
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Can you use the reroll a dice stratagem on the roll-off to determine who has the first turn?
|
Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:18:46
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
Kharneth wrote:Can you use the reroll a dice stratagem on the roll-off to determine who has the first turn?
Yes as it re-roll ANY die.
|
5500
2500 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:25:08
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Second layer question: Since a dice cannot be rerolled more than once, save roll-off ties. what happens when you and your opponent tie on the first roll, have to reroll and you get the lower score? Can you still use the stratagem to re-roll, even though technically you already re-rolled the dice? -
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/30 16:25:39
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:28:11
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
Galef wrote:Second layer question:
Since a dice cannot be rerolled more than once, save roll-off ties. what happens when you and your opponent tie on the first roll, have to reroll and you get the lower score?
Can you still use the stratagem to re-roll, even though technically you already re-rolled the dice?
-
No, under no circumstances can you ever re-roll a re-roll. You can only ever use that stratagem on an initial roll before any other rolls have been made. But that can be the roll off for first turn.
|
5500
2500 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:53:50
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Chapter Approved changed that. You can't use it in Matched Play anymore. "You cannot use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to affect Mission dice rolls." As for non-matched play, yes you can use it once, but not again since you can't re-roll a re-roll except as part of a roll-off.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/30 16:55:04
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:54:32
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
SeanDavid1991 wrote: Galef wrote:Second layer question:
Since a dice cannot be rerolled more than once, save roll-off ties. what happens when you and your opponent tie on the first roll, have to reroll and you get the lower score?
Can you still use the stratagem to re-roll, even though technically you already re-rolled the dice?
-
No, under no circumstances can you ever re-roll a re-roll. You can only ever use that stratagem on an initial roll before any other rolls have been made. But that can be the roll off for first turn.
Are you sure? It really depends on how you define a re-roll. When I roll off against my opponent and we roll the same dice, I don't think of it as a re-roll when we roll again. It's just rolling the roll-off again because we rolled the same number. If we rolled the same number again, we'd roll again. We'll keep rolling the roll off until there is not a tie. These are not re-rolls, they are tie-breaker rolls. They are subsequent rolls, not re-rolls.
Either way, what I wanted to know was if I could spend a command point to re-roll my initial result. I'll start doing this now, since nothing is more advantageous as a turn 1 move and rhino smoke.
|
Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 16:55:44
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Kharneth wrote: SeanDavid1991 wrote: Galef wrote:Second layer question: Since a dice cannot be rerolled more than once, save roll-off ties. what happens when you and your opponent tie on the first roll, have to reroll and you get the lower score? Can you still use the stratagem to re-roll, even though technically you already re-rolled the dice? - No, under no circumstances can you ever re-roll a re-roll. You can only ever use that stratagem on an initial roll before any other rolls have been made. But that can be the roll off for first turn. Are you sure? It really depends on how you define a re-roll. When I roll off against my opponent and we roll the same dice, I don't think of it as a re-roll when we roll again. It's just rolling the roll-off again because we rolled the same number. If we rolled the same number again, we'd roll again. We'll keep rolling the roll off until there is not a tie. These are not re-rolls, they are tie-breaker rolls. They are subsequent rolls, not re-rolls. Either way, what I wanted to know was if I could spend a command point to re-roll my initial result. I'll start doing this now, since nothing is more advantageous as a turn 1 move and rhino smoke.
Again, if you're playing Matched Play rules, you can't do it. And if you're playing non-matched play, do you think it's really a good idea to do something so "unfun"? I get the point of non-matched play is "anything goes", but still...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/30 16:56:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 18:18:40
Subject: Re:Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No, you may not use the re-roll stratagem before the game begins (i.e. rolls which take place around the framework of the game - such as rolling off for initiative, rolling to seize, rolling to see if the game ends). It was clarified in Chapter Approved 2017.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 19:12:07
Subject: Re:Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Elbows wrote:No, you may not use the re-roll stratagem before the game begins (i.e. rolls which take place around the framework of the game - such as rolling off for initiative, rolling to seize, rolling to see if the game ends). It was clarified in Chapter Approved 2017.
Aw :(
And at BaconCatBug, I don't see how it's unfun to want to make that re-roll. Who goes first has been the biggest determining factor in many of my games and I think it only makes sense that, as a player, I'd look where ever I could to get an advantage. I think the fact that I take no guns and unit sizes of 8 or its multiple is enough to negate any argument that I'm trying to win at all cost. I'd certainly like to go first at all cost ;P
|
Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/05/30 20:06:18
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Kharneth wrote: SeanDavid1991 wrote: Galef wrote:Second layer question:
Since a dice cannot be rerolled more than once, save roll-off ties. what happens when you and your opponent tie on the first roll, have to reroll and you get the lower score?
Can you still use the stratagem to re-roll, even though technically you already re-rolled the dice?
-
No, under no circumstances can you ever re-roll a re-roll. You can only ever use that stratagem on an initial roll before any other rolls have been made. But that can be the roll off for first turn.
Are you sure? It really depends on how you define a re-roll. When I roll off against my opponent and we roll the same dice, I don't think of it as a re-roll when we roll again. It's just rolling the roll-off again because we rolled the same number. If we rolled the same number again, we'd roll again. We'll keep rolling the roll off until there is not a tie. These are not re-rolls, they are tie-breaker rolls. They are subsequent rolls, not re-rolls.
Either way, what I wanted to know was if I could spend a command point to re-roll my initial result. I'll start doing this now, since nothing is more advantageous as a turn 1 move and rhino smoke.
Again, if you're playing Matched Play rules, you can't do it. And if you're playing non-matched play, do you think it's really a good idea to do something so "unfun"? I get the point of non-matched play is "anything goes", but still...
Totally agree with BCB!
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/02 09:46:31
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So let me get this clear; you are not allowed to use the re-roll strategem for ANY reason before the battle begins? Or just mission-related rolls?
For instance, can I use a re-roll on my Transcendant C’tan’s ‘Split Personality’ random upgrades?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/02 09:46:49
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/02 09:50:19
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Doctoralex wrote:So let me get this clear; you are not allowed to use the re-roll strategem for ANY reason before the battle begins? Or just mission-related rolls?
For instance, can I use a re-roll on my Transcendant C’tan’s ‘Split Personality’ random upgrades?
You’ve answered your own question. That isn’t a Mission roll.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/02 10:56:29
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Doctoralex wrote:So let me get this clear; you are not allowed to use the re-roll strategem for ANY reason before the battle begins? Or just mission-related rolls? For instance, can I use a re-roll on my Transcendant C’tan’s ‘Split Personality’ random upgrades?
C'tan powers are one of the things that the Limits of Command rule applies to, so you could not use the re-roll stratagem on them.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/02 10:56:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/03 00:48:14
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Is it a mission roll then?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/03 00:48:50
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Chapter Approved clearly explains what is affected.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/03 00:52:19
Subject: Rerolling Player Roll-Off
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Indeed it is. No reviewed it recently enough, and that "mission" name isn't ideal there
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|