Switch Theme:

Can tactical wound allocation prevent melee attacks from different units in the fight phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Something which I don't think is very clear from the rules... sorry if this is a dopey question.

Let's say there are units A & B from one army, and unit X from another army.

Unit A and B charge in to unit X and make it within within 1"

The fight phase commences. Unit A consolidates in and attacks unit X, which suffers multiple wounds. At the end of Unit A's attacks, damage is allocated to unit X so that models are moved and, ultimately, no models from unit X are left within 1" of unit B before it's unit B's turn to fight.

In these circumstances, it seems to me that unit B cannot fight unit X this turn, even though at the very start of the fight phase models from unit B were within 1" of unit X. The only circumstance unit B could attack would be if unit X piled in / consolidated into into unit A and, by proxy, B, putting the models within 1" again.

This actually game up during one of my games. I had two units charge in. My first unit killed a bunch of models and my second unit was then more then 1" away. In fact, it was 2" away. My opponent said I could pile in up to 3" so I did, but this seemed iffy to me as at the moment of piling in, I was not within 1".

What say you, Warhammer gods?

Many thanks!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/05/31 22:56:05


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Nitefly wrote:
Something which I don't think is very clear from the rules... sorry if this is a dopey question.

Let's say there are units A & B from one army, and unit X from another army.

Unit A and B charge in to unit X and make it within within 1"

The fight phase commences. Unit A consolidates in and attacks unit X, which suffers multiple wounds. At the end of Unit A's attacks, damage is allocated to unit X so that models are moved and, ultimately, no models from unit X are left within 1" of unit B before it's unit B's turn to fight.

In these circumstances, it seems to me that unit B cannot fight unit X this turn, even though at the very start of the fight phase models from unit B were within 1" of unit X. The only circumstance unit B could attack would be if unit X piled in / consolidated into into unit A and, by proxy, B, putting the models within 1" again.

This actually game up during one of my games. I had two units charge in. My first unit killed a bunch of models and my second unit was then more then 1" away. In fact, it was 2" away. My opponent said I could pile in up to 3" so I did, but this seemed iffy to me as at the moment of piling in, I was not within 1".

What say you, Warhammer gods?

Many thanks!

If Unit B had not charged that turn, then you would be correct, Unit B could not fight. However, the rules for the fight phase permit a unit that successfully makes a charge to go though every step of the fight sequence regardless of whether they are within 1" of an enemy or not. Thus, Unit B would get to pile in, make their attacks if they got in range of a unit they declared a charge in, and then consolidate regardless of whether they made any attacks or not.
BRB Page 182 wrote:Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.

As I said before, if you had charged into an existing melee between an enemy unit and Unit B, and Unit A had killed too many models for Unit B to be within 1", Unit B does not get to fight even though they started within 1" (the rules don't care about that anymore) and would no longer be considered within 1" of an enemy when your enemies shooting phase comes around, so plan your charges carefully!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/05/31 23:14:50


 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




That’s very interesting indeed - thank you so much for your kind explanation!
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

I didn't see the bit about the charger. So if in this scenario Unit B is chosen to fight and piles in but is still not within 1" it still can't attack?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Nithaniel wrote:
I didn't see the bit about the charger. So if in this scenario Unit B is chosen to fight and piles in but is still not within 1" it still can't attack?


Correct. If you charged you always get to pile in. If that gets you within 1" of an enemy model from a unit you declared a charge against you can fight. If you didn't charge this turn you can only be chosen to pile in if you're already within 1" of an enemy.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Slipspace wrote:
 Nithaniel wrote:
I didn't see the bit about the charger. So if in this scenario Unit B is chosen to fight and piles in but is still not within 1" it still can't attack?


Correct. If you charged you always get to pile in. If that gets you within 1" of an enemy model from a unit you declared a charge against you can fight. If you didn't charge this turn you can only be chosen to pile in if you're already within 1" of an enemy.
Exactomundo my dude! And you also get to consolidate if you charged even if you didn't get attack.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: