Switch Theme:

Dark Matter Crystal and Warptime (and Grey Knight Shunts and Gate of Infinity)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Note: this issue also applies to GK Interceptors and Gate of Infinity power.

Question: Can the target of the Dark Matter Crystal be the target of Warptime in the subsequent psychic phase?

TSons Codex
Dark Matter Crystal wrote:
Once per battle, at the end of your Movement phase, you can select the bearer or a friendly THOUSAND SONS INFANTRY unit within 12" of him. Remove that unit from the battlefield and immediately set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" from any enemy models. This does not count as Falling Back if the unit was within 1" of any enemy models.


BRB FAQ
FAQ 1.2 wrote:
The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.).
Q: Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in and consolidate?
A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it can pile in and consolidate.
Q: Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g. because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like Metabolic Overdrive from Codex:Tyranids, etc.?
A: No.


Battle Primer
Reinforcements wrote:
Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn. Units that arrive as reinforcements count as having moved in their Movement phase for all rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons. Any unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the battle counts as having been destroyed.


See underlined phrases. This section makes “set up,” “deploy,” and “arrive” as synonymous.

Beta FAQ
Tactical Reserves wrote:
Any unit that arrives on the battlefield during a player’s first turn must be deployed wholly within the controlling player’s deployment zone (even if its ability would normally let it be set up anywhere).


This Beta rule means that the Dark Matter Crystal can only put your model inside its own deployment zone.

Clarifying FB picture
Star Units wrote:
Using Da Jump, you'll still be able to deliver your favourite infantry units to the enemy frontlines in your first turn. Like any ability that lets you move an already-deployed unit, it's unaffected by the new beta rule.


This clarification means that the DMC target can be placed outside your deployment zone on T1.

These two rules, taken together, separate “arrive” from “already-deployed.” These are the newest rules, and clarify what was previously intended by the original 2017 publication.


Using the Dark Matter Crystal on an already-deployed unit makes it a legal target for Warptime later in the turn.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Rulebook faq

Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and
then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the
Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having
moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
A: Yes. Treat such units as if they are arriving on the
battlefield as reinforcements.

They count as reinforcements, so cannot be targeted by warptime that turn.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

And according to the "Star Units" rules, anything that was "already-deployed" does not count as reinforcements.

So they can be targeted by Warptime.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
And according to the "Star Units" rules, anything that was "already-deployed" does not count as reinforcements.

So they can be targeted by Warptime.


For the purposes of the beta rule. There has been no clarification about warptime.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Facebook is not rules.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

That's like saying, "Horses are not rules."

No gak, Sherlock. I'm glad we can make obvious statements.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Elric Greywolf wrote:
That's like saying, "Horses are not rules."

No gak, Sherlock. I'm glad we can make obvious statements.
So why were you claiming it was?
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

I'm claiming that a post made on Facebook is clarification for the rules.

Unlike you, when you said, "Facebook is not rules."

Yeah, I don't know why the largest publically traded social media site in the world ever would be 40k rules. That just seems like a blatantly obvious thing to point out, and has zero helpful input for the discussion.

Now, if you were talking about a POST on Facebook, then maybe your input would've had some tiny bearing.
Assuming that is what you meant, rather than a nonsensical pop-in...then you have absolutely zero contributions to make to this conversation that I care to hear. We're starting with mutually exclusive different assumptions (a FB post is rules vs. a FB post isn't rules), and your input on this matter is therefore trollish.

I assume the foundation is correct, please discuss under that assumption.

Bug, you can treat this discussion as a HIWPI, not as RAW.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 Elric Greywolf wrote:
I'm claiming that a post made on Facebook is clarification for the rules.

Unlike you, when you said, "Facebook is not rules."

Yeah, I don't know why the largest publically traded social media site in the world ever would be 40k rules. That just seems like a blatantly obvious thing to point out, and has zero helpful input for the discussion.

Now, if you were talking about a POST on Facebook, then maybe your input would've had some tiny bearing.
Assuming that is what you meant, rather than a nonsensical pop-in...then you have absolutely zero contributions to make to this conversation that I care to hear. We're starting with mutually exclusive different assumptions (a FB post is rules vs. a FB post isn't rules), and your input on this matter is therefore trollish.

I assume the foundation is correct, please discuss under that assumption.

Bug, you can treat this discussion as a HIWPI, not as RAW.
If two rules directly contradict one another, I would be more inclined to follow the RAW, or "clarified in the FAQ" before a facebook post.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Bug, you can treat this discussion as a HIWPI, not as RAW.
Fair enough.

HIWPI is that using the Dark Matter Crystal prevents the usage of Warptime etc, as per the Special Snowflake FAQ. Coincidentally this is also what the rules + Special Snowflake FAQs state.
 skchsan wrote:
If two rules directly contradict one another, I would be more inclined to follow the RAW, or "clarified in the FAQ" before a facebook post.
Stop following the rules! That makes you Gary No-Fun!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/11 14:15:23


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: