Switch Theme:

Disembark and Move  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Eye of Terror

When a unit disembarks from a transport, does it have to move immediately, or can it move later in the phase?

A situation came up in a game where I had a unit disembark, the transport moved forward to prepare for a charge, and then I wanted to go back and move the disembarking unit. My opponent thought that's illegal and I didn't feel like arguing.

So what do you say Dakka?

   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/13 20:33:33


 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 skchsan wrote:
From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.
yes there is. Disembarking happens when you select the unit to move. You must move them immediately, you can't move the transport first then go back to move the unit.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; and Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.
yes there is. Disembarking happens when you select the unit to move. You must move them immediately, you can't move the transport first then go back to move the unit.


Can you show me this imperative in the wording? I don’t believe it is as explicit as you think. Implicit, maybe, but not stated.

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider, Stormraven, Termite and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page
 
   
Made in ro
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon




Lisbon, Portugal

Your opponent thought like that because generally people believe the act of disembarking is made by the unit inside the vehicle, not the vehicle itself.

However, as units outside the table cannot act at all, they cannot start anything - which means the act of disembarking is started by the vehicle, not the unit inside it. Thus, a unit disembarking can act later in the turn, because in fact it was disembarked by the vehicle - not disembarked by themselves.

At least this is how I see this situation

40k Dark Angels

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 JohnnyHell wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.
yes there is. Disembarking happens when you select the unit to move. You must move them immediately, you can't move the transport first then go back to move the unit.


Can you show me this imperative in the wording? I don’t believe it is as explicit as you think. Implicit, maybe, but not stated.


"Start your Movement phase by picking one of your units and moving each model in that unit until you've moved all the models you want to. You can then pick another unit to move, until you have moved as many of your units as you wish. No model can be moved more than once in each Movement phase." There's no permission stated to go back to pick a unit the second time in the movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

Oh I agree that’s how it is played, but disembarking doesn’t say you need to select the unit. Indeed it goes on to say the unit can move normally. The only condition is to disembark before moving the transport. Disembarking is setting up, not moving, just intrigued we all follow the implicit when it’s not explicit.

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider, Stormraven, Termite and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Vector Strike wrote:
Your opponent thought like that because generally people believe the act of disembarking is made by the unit inside the vehicle, not the vehicle itself.

However, as units outside the table cannot act at all, they cannot start anything - which means the act of disembarking is started by the vehicle, not the unit inside it. Thus, a unit disembarking can act later in the turn, because in fact it was disembarked by the vehicle - not disembarked by themselves.

At least this is how I see this situation


The rules say the unit disembarks, which means you're selecting the unit disembarking (which it has permission to do because of the transport rules even if it's not on the table at the start of the movement phase.


People believe the act of disembarking is made by the unit and not the vehicle itself because that's what it says, the unit is disembarking. If the act were covered by selecting the vehicle, it would be described as the vehicle disgorging its passengers.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Eye of Terror

This is a really interesting conversation.

I'm reading the rules on movement. From the BRB:

"Start the Movement phase by picking one of your units and moving each model in that unit until you've moved all the models you want to. You can then pick another unit to move, until you have moved as many of your models as you wish. No model can be moved more than once in each Movement phase."

So what's this talk about selected? Selection is not part of the rules, it just says you can move your models, but no unit can move twice.

Is the argument that disembarking is movement? The rules say disembarking counts as movement for the purpose of heavy weapons and whatnot, but I don't see anything that makes me think it denies movement at a later point in the phase.

   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





It is physically impossible to disembark a model without moving it...unless you can teleport models with your mind.

You cannot physically disembark a model without moving it...it is not legal to move a model without selecting it. Therefore you must select, disembark, and move the model. You cannot do it twice.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Eye of Terror

 JimOnMars wrote:
It is physically impossible to disembark a model without moving it...unless you can teleport models with your mind.

You cannot physically disembark a model without moving it...it is not legal to move a model without selecting it. Therefore you must select, disembark, and move the model. You cannot do it twice.


Physically moving a model and counts-as-movement are two different things. I mean, technically, embarked models are not on the board, no one is touching anything.

Again with the language about selection. Where is that in the rules?

   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.
yes there is. Disembarking happens when you select the unit to move. You must move them immediately, you can't move the transport first then go back to move the unit.
I'm not sure where you're getting such interpretation from. Disembarking only tells you to set up the unit 3" of the transport. It does not tell you the disembarked units must resolve its movement phase.immediately after disembarking?
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

 skchsan wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
From Transport from Battle Primer:

Disembark:
...Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn.


There are no stipulations that force disembarked units to move immediately after disembarking. Units that disembark can "act normally", including being chosen last/later in the turn to move.
yes there is. Disembarking happens when you select the unit to move. You must move them immediately, you can't move the transport first then go back to move the unit.
I'm not sure where you're getting such interpretation from. Disembarking only tells you to set up the unit 3" of the transport. It does not tell you the disembarked units must resolve its movement phase.immediately after disembarking?


This. It’s how everyone plays it but I’m unable to find that requirement to move said unit immediately in the rules. Indeed, the only obligation seems to be to disembark before the transport moves.

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider, Stormraven, Termite and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





 skchsan wrote:
Disembarking only tells you to set up the unit 3" of the transport. It does not tell you the disembarked units must resolve its movement phase.immediately after disembarking?


Interesting use of language. If "its movement phase", when talking about a unit, is when you actually select it and resolve its movement then the rules do tell us exactly that.

Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves. When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that all of its models are within 3" of the transport and not within 1" of any enemy models[

I'm not sure if "its movement phase" means the movement phase for the player who owns the unit (in which case I'd guess you don't need to move the unit immediately) or if it really does mean when the unit is selected to resolve its movement (in which case the unit must move immediately).

I'm honestly not sure how I'd play it, I've only just added a transport to my army and I can't recall exactly how I sequence things. If playing a more experienced player I'd probably just ask their opinion and go with it.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
It’s how everyone plays it but I’m unable to find that requirement to move said unit immediately in the rules. Indeed, the only obligation seems to be to disembark before the transport moves.


So the way that "everyone" seems to play it is that you disembark a unit and then immediately move it? If so that's good enough for me.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/14 08:35:29


DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

Yeah, that’s the general consensus and how I play it, but I found it interesting that the rules could absolutely be read another way.

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider, Stormraven, Termite and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page
 
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





 JimOnMars wrote:
It is physically impossible to disembark a model without moving it...unless you can teleport models with your mind.

You cannot physically disembark a model without moving it...it is not legal to move a model without selecting it. Therefore you must select, disembark, and move the model. You cannot do it twice.
Except that disembark is a type of "set up" action and not necessarilly a "movement" type action as far as rules govern it.

While most other "set up" action tells you that you cannot move or advance, but disembark rule specifically allows the unit to "act normally" for the remainder of the turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/14 11:54:40


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Is there any advantage in moving your disembarking unit(s) later in the phase? I usually like the move the unit when I disembark to get out of the vehicle's way.

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress




Tacoma, WA, USA

Beyond putting them where the transport was? Not that I can think of.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.
Why would you think you can't activate two units individually?

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; and Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.


I never actually gave disembarking that much thought, but as a player I'd rather move the first unit and then disembark the second. I think I might be on the "disembarking is moving" side because I don't think it should be possible to disembark, move the vehicle, and then move the unit to where the vehicle was.

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.
Yes, well done, you've literally explained how movement works in 40k.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; and Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.
Why would you think you can't activate two units individually?


If they are being disembarked by the vehicle during the vehicle's movement, then they cannot be placed in the same spot and you might crowd the disembarkable area. If they disembark as part of their own movement, they will move out of the way and one unit can disembark where the other disembarked after they've moved out of the way.

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 Kharneth wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Just to add another layer. What if you want to disembark 2 units from the same transport? Would I have to disembark 1 and then move it and then disembark the 2nd unit? That would allow me, in effect, to place 2 models in the same place or for 2 units to escape encircled vehicles using the same path. I would imagine the units are supposed to disembark at the same time but I can see them leaving the vehicle sequentially.
Why would you think you can't activate two units individually?


If they are being disembarked by the vehicle during the vehicle's movement, then they cannot be placed in the same spot and you might crowd the disembarkable area. If they disembark as part of their own movement, they will move out of the way and one unit can disembark where the other disembarked after they've moved out of the way.
"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves." You activate the unit inside, not the transport.

You can disembark 1 unit, move it, then disembark the other and move it. You must move at the same time you disembark. Anyone saying otherwise is simply wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/14 13:02:39


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; and Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




 BaconCatBug wrote:
You can disembark 1 unit, move it, then disembark the other and move it. You must move at the same time you disembark. Anyone saying otherwise is simply wrong.


Citation please. As has been said in posts above there is no mention of the unit being placed on the board having to then move before any other unit. Placing units on the board is not moving them so there's no continuity of movement involved.
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





 BaconCatBug wrote:
You activate the unit inside, not the transport.
Indeed, the unit being activated is the unit that is embarked invoking its disembark rule, just as units arriving from reserve invoking their respective deep strike rule. However, we don't have enough explaination to justify "Disembarking" = "Initiate movement phase for the unit disembarking."

The rule simply states the unit must be set up within 3". Perhaps if the rule stated 'move the unit within 3"' it could have explained that disembarking is a move.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Eye of Terror

 Kharneth wrote:
Is there any advantage in moving your disembarking unit(s) later in the phase? I usually like the move the unit when I disembark to get out of the vehicle's way.


Yes, there can be an advantage to moving later in the phase. It mostly involves tanks and the fact you can't move a unit through another unit.

Here's what happened.

Playing against Harlequins, my Hellforged Land Raider Proteus was transporting 6 Chosen. I wanted that HLRP in combat with a Harlequin Troupe to restore some wounds.

There was also a unit of Jetbikes nearby who had just done 8 wounds to the HLRP. I wanted to make sure they could not charge in and finish it off the next turn.

The Chosen disembarked to the right of the HLRP. The HLRP moved close to the Troupe, to make sure it was going to get the charge.

Next, I tried to move the Chosen behind the HLRP, to cut off space for the Jetbikes to complete a charge. That's when my opponent insisted you can't move after disembarking.

The reason it was necessary to disembark the Chosen to the right of the HLRP was to give the tank room to move towards the Troupe. Units can't move through units, so the Chosen were going to have to move after it passed.

What happened instead was, the HLRP managed to kill the entire Troupe with lascannons, combat and morale modifiers. It got back 2 wounds back from kills in close combat. The Jetbikes did charge next turn, wiping out the Chosen and reducing the HLRP to 6 wounds. Ultimately, the HLRP did kill the Jetbikes, but it never got back above 8 wounds - leaving it at a lower tier.

   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





 skchsan wrote:
Indeed, the unit being activated is the unit that is embarked invoking its disembark rule, just as units arriving from reserve invoking their respective deep strike rule. However, we don't have enough explaination to justify "Disembarking" = "Initiate movement phase for the unit disembarking."

The rule simply states the unit must be set up within 3". Perhaps if the rule stated 'move the unit within 3"' it could have explained that disembarking is a move.


The rule states more than that, it states "Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

What that means is, to me, somewhat questionable. If "its movement phase" refers to the point when you've picked one of your units to move then you must disembark a unit and then move that unit.

DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




"It's movement phase" could be a generic reference to the player's movement phase but looking at it from the unit's PoV.

This is another grey area that GW left by using insufficient wording in its rules.
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Leo_the_Rat wrote:
"It's movement phase" could be a generic reference to the player's movement phase but looking at it from the unit's PoV.

This is another grey area that GW left by using insufficient wording in its rules.


Personally, I believe "its movement phase" refers to it not being the enemy's movement phase. There is 1 movement phase per player. When it is your turn, its your units' turn too, any units embarked in a transport during your movement phase is during its movement phase as well.

"Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc) during the remainder of their turn."

GW uses the words "their turn" to refer to the unit's movement phase, shoooting phase, fight phase, etc. "Their turn" is synonymous with the player's turn. Additionally, I think the implication is pretty clear that after a unit disembarks it can act normally during the remainder of the turn, it does not need to be immediate. Disembarking is setting up, like deployment or like deep striking. The rules go on further to describe how this version of setting up is distinct in that it counts as moving for the purposes of heavy weapons.

If you needed to move after disembarking, I believe the former rule would read more like "Units that disembark may immediately complete their movement by moving up to their maximum movement range and may advance as normal."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/14 14:34:40


Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: