Thrst77 wrote:Hey everyone, so I had a question come up in a game not too long ago. So if a unit of devastators are charged and some of them arent in attacking range when they die, can the banner activate them and let them shoot at a unit not in combat?
Determining whether a unit can shoot or not is done on a unit basis, not model. If any of the Devastator models are within 1" of an enemy, then the whole unit is, and thus you cannot pick the model to shoot.
However, it all hinges on whether "as if" means that restriction even applies anymore, and
GW have issued contradictory
FAQs as to the extent that "as if" applies to things that affect models in specific phases.
It also depends on whether you even count the model as part of its unit when determining it's final attack.
In short,
GW haven't written the rules properly for us to know for sure.