Switch Theme:

Can Ynnari Take Codex Warlord Traits?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





So I just noticed in the large FAQ a bit of wording I hadn't caught before. This is the text;

Page 76 – Army of the Reborn
Replace this paragraph with the following: ‘If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urien Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <Haemonculus Coven> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all Aeldari units in that Detachment gain the Ynnari keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, Ynnari Infantry and Biker units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).’


Emphasis mine. My question is as the title. If Yvraine, the Visarch, or the Yncarne are your warlord in a harlequinn/drukhari/craftworld detachment do they get access to those warlord traits? I've yet to see anyone playing that way but it appears to me that's the case.

There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Zarroc1733 wrote:
So I just noticed in the large FAQ a bit of wording I hadn't caught before. This is the text;

Page 76 – Army of the Reborn
Replace this paragraph with the following: ‘If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urien Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <Haemonculus Coven> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all Aeldari units in that Detachment gain the Ynnari keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, Ynnari Infantry and Biker units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).’


Emphasis mine. My question is as the title. If Yvraine, the Visarch, or the Yncarne are your warlord in a harlequinn/drukhari/craftworld detachment do they get access to those warlord traits? I've yet to see anyone playing that way but it appears to me that's the case.
No. Although it's a Craftworlds detachment, Yvraine, the Visarch, or the Yncarne are not Craftworlds Characters.
Page 116 Codex: Craftworlds wrote:In the rules described in this section we often refer to ‘Craftworlds units’ and ‘Craftworlds Warlords’. This is shorthand for a unit or Warlord that has the ASURYANI keyword.
Page 121 Codex: Craftworlds wrote:If the Warlord of your army is a Craftworlds CHARACTER, you can either pick their Warlord Trait from the Asuryani Warlord Traits below or roll a dice and consult the table to randomly generate it.
They lack the ASURYANI keyword, thus cannot, by definition, be a "Craftworld CHARACTER"

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/28 19:25:09


 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Zarroc1733 wrote:
So I just noticed in the large FAQ a bit of wording I hadn't caught before. This is the text;

Page 76 – Army of the Reborn
Replace this paragraph with the following: ‘If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urien Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <Haemonculus Coven> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all Aeldari units in that Detachment gain the Ynnari keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, Ynnari Infantry and Biker units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).’


Emphasis mine. My question is as the title. If Yvraine, the Visarch, or the Yncarne are your warlord in a harlequinn/drukhari/craftworld detachment do they get access to those warlord traits? I've yet to see anyone playing that way but it appears to me that's the case.
No. Although it's a Craftworlds detachment, Yvraine, the Visarch, or the Yncarne are not Craftworlds Characters.
Page 116 Codex: Craftworlds wrote:In the rules described in this section we often refer to ‘Craftworlds units’ and ‘Craftworlds Warlords’. This is shorthand for a unit or Warlord that has the ASURYANI keyword.
Page 121 Codex: Craftworlds wrote:If the Warlord of your army is a Craftworlds CHARACTER, you can either pick their Warlord Trait from the Asuryani Warlord Traits below or roll a dice and consult the table to randomly generate it.
They lack the ASURYANI keyword, thus cannot, by definition, be a "Craftworld CHARACTER"


That's what I thought too. But why would they put the bit about warlord traits? The only way to take the three Ynnari characters is to have a Ynnari warlord and they can't take the warlord traits so why put that in there? That being said I do agree with you that RAW Ynnari can't take the warlord traits. Gonna chalk it up to shoddy rules writing from the GW team.

There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Zarroc1733 wrote:
That's what I thought too. But why would they put the bit about warlord traits? The only way to take the three Ynnari characters is to have a Ynnari warlord and they can't take the warlord traits so why put that in there? That being said I do agree with you that RAW Ynnari can't take the warlord traits. Gonna chalk it up to shoddy rules writing from the GW team.
Because Dark Eldar have the ability to give multiple models Warlord Traits, although only if they have an Archon as their warlord.

It just seems to me GW are incompetent and forgot that the Ynnari Characters can't take the traits even if they made it a Craftworlds Detachment. Same reason why they gave Mordians a +1 to hit in Overwatch and forgot that it doesn't work like that, thus requiring errata down the line to make it work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/28 19:33:38


 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Zarroc1733 wrote:
That's what I thought too. But why would they put the bit about warlord traits? The only way to take the three Ynnari characters is to have a Ynnari warlord and they can't take the warlord traits so why put that in there? That being said I do agree with you that RAW Ynnari can't take the warlord traits. Gonna chalk it up to shoddy rules writing from the GW team.
Because Dark Eldar have the ability to give multiple models Warlord Traits, although only if they have an Archon as their warlord.

It just seems to me GW are incompetent and forgot that the Ynnari Characters can't take the traits even if they made it a Craftworlds Detachment. Same reason why they gave Mordians a +1 to hit in Overwatch and forgot that it doesn't work like that, thus requiring errata down the line to make it work.


Yeah that's what I figured, but I haven't had my codex the past week or so to check the wording in the Craftworld codex to see if there was actually anything to disallow it.

There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: