Switch Theme:

Question about summoning  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in bg
Dakka Veteran




Is the new beta rule for tactical reserves applied to summoning ?
Can you summon unite outside your deployment zone during the first round and can you summon new units after the 3 round.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




A good question, with no official answer.

Sorry. You now have to deal with internet opinions.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I don't think anything stops summoning after round 3 regardless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/20 16:26:00


DFTT 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Don't know what Captyn_Bob is going on about... the answer is pretty clear:


#1a, Yes, #1b No - Yes, the Tactical Reserves rule is in effect. No, you cannot summon outside your deployment zone turn 1. This is because a unit that is being summoned is "arriving" during the first turn.

From Big FAQ:
Furthermore, in matched play games, any unit that arrives on the battlefield during a player’s first turn must be deployed wholly within the controlling player’s deployment zone (even if its ability would normally let it be set up anywhere). This does not apply to a Genestealer Cults unit that is being set up according to the Cult Ambush ability, or to units that are set up after the first battle round has begun, but before the first turn begins (such as those set up via the Forward Operatives or Strike From the Shadows Stratagems).

From Rulebook, pg214:
"If you decide not to use the unit, then the ability or psychic power that allowed you to take it in the first place is still considered to have been used, even though no unit actually arrived." (emphasis mine - illustrating that the rulebook does consider summoned units to be arriving)

#2 - Yes, you can summon new units after the 3rd round, because these are not a unit that is currently set up in reserves, but are created from your pool of Reinforcement Points.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yarium has it spot on. The new Beta Rule affects summoning.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: