Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 04:53:17
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
For hit/wound/number of shots/damage.
Is it the facing of the dice used in calculating the value, or is it the value of the hit/wound/number of shots/damage.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 05:05:35
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Value. On d3 you have results 1,2 and 3. You roll 1's out of those.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 05:12:05
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The previous thread on the subject: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/758656.page It's the value of the dice used, not a facing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/29 06:50:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 07:33:54
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So you can't reroll any dice when determining the shots for say, Cawls Wrath (2D6) or a Twin Siegebreaker cannon (2D3) but you could reroll a 1 for the Volcano cannon (D6). And you can reroll a 1 for the D3 damage on an unsaved wound from a Twin Siegebreaker, but you can't reroll any ones on the Volcano Cannons 3D3 damage per unsaved wound?
Have I got this right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/29 07:35:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 07:48:57
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Halfpast_Yellow wrote:So you can't reroll any dice when determining the shots for say, Cawls Wrath ( 2D6) or a Twin Siegebreaker cannon (2D3) but you could reroll a 1 for the Volcano cannon ( D6). And you can reroll a 1 for the D3 damage on an unsaved wound from a Twin Siegebreaker, but you can't reroll any ones on the Volcano Cannons 3D3 damage per unsaved wound? Have I got this right?
From the BRB errata: RE-ROLLS Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again. You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied
So you are correct, you can't use the stratagem to re-roll any of the dice from a 2D6 or 2D3, because those rolls can never be a 1. Now, if it had said "re-roll all dice that are 1" or something similar, then you could. But it doesn't, so you can't. Now, if it was an effect like the Earthshaker Cannon has, which has D6 for the number of shots, and then tells you to "Roll two dice for the number of attacks when firing this weapon and discard the lowest result.", you could re-roll all 1's you get, for both dice.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/07/29 08:13:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 14:06:04
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I'm going to disagree. Each die is read individually. 2D3 is shorthand for roll 2 dice with 1-3 on them. After rolling the dice add them together for a final result.
The strategy says that you re-roll "1"s. It does not say re-roll if the resulting total of the dice rolled is a "1". So, if you're told to roll 2 d3's then you look at them individually, re-roll if any 1s are rolled and, then add the results together.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/07/29 14:11:27
Subject: Castellan, Raven Stratagem: What does 'reroll rolls of one' mean
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:I'm going to disagree. Each die is read individually. 2D3 is shorthand for roll 2 dice with 1-3 on them. After rolling the dice add them together for a final result.
The strategy says that you re-roll "1"s. It does not say re-roll if the resulting total of the dice rolled is a "1". So, if you're told to roll 2 d3's then you look at them individually, re-roll if any 1s are rolled and, then add the results together.
You seem to have misread the codex. It does not say you re-roll 1s. It says you must "re-roll all rolls of 1". BRB states "Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice, sometimes abbreviated to D6. Some rules refer to 2D6, 3D6 and so on – in such cases, roll that many D6s and add the results together." 2D6 is always 2 dice added together, you can't separate the dice like you claim.
The key word is roll here. If it just said "re-roll 1's" then you'd have a point.
|
|
 |
 |
|