Switch Theme:

Question about Salamanders reroll rule with captains and chaplains....  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

Was discussing this with a friend a few days ago since I run a Salamanders style army..

The Salamanders special rule allows you to reroll a single failed hit in any shooting or CC phase.

Captains allow you to reroll ones when rolling to hit in shooting or CC phase

Chaplains allow rerolls to hit in CC phase


Question:

If a Devastator Squad rolls to hit with 3 heavy weapons with a Captain within 6" and achieves one hit and rolls 2 ones:

Do you roll for the Captain's reroll of ones, and then if you still roll a miss you then reroll for Salamanders special rule?


In asssault phase with a Chaplain you roll for unit to hit and get 3 hits and 2 misses
You reroll failed hits for Chaplain, and achieve another hit
Can you then reroll the remaining fail using Salamander special rule?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






You can't re-roll a re-roll. You have to choose what rule you're using and you get a maximum of 1 re-roll per dice, period.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Any given dice may only be re-rolled once, ever. It's in the core rules. You can never re-roll a re-rolled dice.

If your 4 Lascannons from a Dev squad (with a captain nearby) roll the following:

3, 4, 2, 1

you are allowed to re-roll the 1 due to the captain, and use the Salamander CT to re-roll the 2.

Modifiers (such as having moved with a Heavy weapon) will be applied after this, so if your squad moved, you'd still only get to re-roll the rolls of 1 and 2 from above, even though the 3 would also miss.
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

K thank you!
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Also note that the Salamnder re-roll isn't once per phase, and isn't restricted to any particular phase. So a Devastator squad can shoot in their shooting phase, get a re-roll, use a cherub to have 1 guy shoot again, who gets another re-roll. Similarly, you can have a unit fight in the Fight phase, get a re-roll, and use the stratagem to fight again, and get another re-roll. Opponent's Movement phase, they deep strike a unit within 12" of a squad and you use the Auspex Scan stratagem, you get to re-roll. They charge, and you get a re-roll when shooting overwatch in the Charge phase.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: