Switch Theme:

Space Wolf Strategem question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

Had a game last night. My friend ran Space Wolves. At one point I reduced a unit from 6 models to one model in a single shooting phase. He then used the Stratagem Lone Wolf on the remaining model. By the strategy that model gains some abilities stats, and the character keyword. Here is the question: Does he stop being a part of his unit now that he is a character and character do not join units? Does the lone figure still take a moral check (in this case with a plus six to the roll?
We simply decided not to have him do so. The game was casual and my sisters were destroying him anyway, and he would have had to spend the extra 2 CP to make him stay, making the stratagem way too expensive for any benefits. I found nothing in the rules covering either side, so suspect he should have, but then again their is the character thing. What do you think?
RAW seems he would, limiting the stratagems use. RAI seems to me to be he becomes a heroic LONE wolf who no longer needs nor belongs to units.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




There's no general rule that says CHARACTERS don't take Morale tests - it's just normally impossible for them to do so because they're only one model! But units of CHARACTERS do exist (Celestine and her pals) and, barring a specific exemption, they follow all the normal rules.

So yes, as far as I can tell, the Lone Wolf has to test for Morale if he hulks up in the same turn that his unit was decimated. Thankfully, you don't actually have to use the stratagem at the end of the same phase that happens: you can use it at the end of any phase, as long as there's a lone survivor still hanging around. So your opponent should have waited until the end of the Morale phase before triggering it, once any running away was sorted out.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

Good point, ThommyH, appreciate it. We also have decided nothing negates the morale check. The issue seemed aggravated because he started in a large unit rather than the 5 man more typical of games.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yes, the unit will still have to take a morale check.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: