Switch Theme:

Metabolic Overdrive and Hive Commander  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

The question: Can you use Metabolic Overdrive on a unit that used Hive Commander.

The rules:
Hive Commander: In each of your Shooting phases, you can pick one friendly <HIVE FLEET> unit within 6" of the Swarmlord. That unit can move (and Advance, if you wish) as if it were the Movement phase instead of shooting.

Metabolic Overdrive:

"Use this Stratagem in the Movement Phase, after moving a Tyranids unit from your army."

The precedence:
Opportunistic Advance:

"Use this Stratagem in the Movement Phase when you roll the dice for an Advancing KRAKEN unit."

Relevant FAQ entry:
Q: Can the Opportunistic Advance Stratagem be used when a
unit is affected by the Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, the
Overrun Stratagem, or the Mind Eater Warlord Trait?
A: Yes in all cases. Please note the FAQ above regarding
moving multiple times in a single phase.

There is no direct FAQ entry involving this question about Metabolic Overdrive, but the wording is very similar to Opportunistic Advance.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

No. “As if it were the Movement Phase” just gives you rules for moving in the Shooting Phase, as otherwise there are no rules to govern what you’re doing. It’s not actually the Movement Phase, so a “play in the Movement Phase” Stratagem cannot be played.

Edit: reads GW FAQ... doubts everything... dissolves into a pile of ‘hah it’s unclear’.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/19 21:56:58


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 JohnnyHell wrote:
No. “As if it were the Movement Phase” just gives you rules for moving in the Shooting Phase, as otherwise there are no rules to govern what you’re doing. It’s not actually the Movement Phase, so a “play in the Movement Phase” Stratagem cannot be played.

Edit: reads GW FAQ... doubts everything... dissolves into a pile of ‘hah it’s unclear’.


My view was the same as yours. Clearly can't be used outside of movement phase..
But then the FAQ makes me believe that, at least in GW's mind, the clause 'as if it were the movement phase' unlocks all stratagems that can only be used during that phase.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Zimko wrote:
My view was the same as yours. Clearly can't be used outside of movement phase..
But then the FAQ makes me believe that, at least in GW's mind, the clause 'as if it were the movement phase' unlocks all stratagems that can only be used during that phase.
It doesn't matter what it is "in GWs mind". The rules do not state that "as if" is the same as "is", so it isn't.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

So we ignore the faq ruling? Or do we consider it an errata despite being in the 'FAQ' section?

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Zimko wrote:
So we ignore the faq ruling? Or do we consider it an errata despite being in the 'FAQ' section?
Thats the reason it's a Special Snowflake FAQ. It applies in this singular instance and to nothing else.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Zimko wrote:
My view was the same as yours. Clearly can't be used outside of movement phase..
But then the FAQ makes me believe that, at least in GW's mind, the clause 'as if it were the movement phase' unlocks all stratagems that can only be used during that phase.
It doesn't matter what it is "in GWs mind". The rules do not state that "as if" is the same as "is", so it isn't.


Actually it is. "As if" means "is". Rulebook 1.2 update :

Q: If the unit arriving as reinforcements is a Character,
can the firing unit shoot at it even if it is not the closest
enemy unit?
A: No – unless the firing unit is using a weapon that
allows them to target a Character even if it is not the
closest enemy unit. This takes place ‘as if it were the
Shooting phase’, so all the normal restrictions of the
Shooting phase still apply.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Zimko wrote:
My view was the same as yours. Clearly can't be used outside of movement phase..
But then the FAQ makes me believe that, at least in GW's mind, the clause 'as if it were the movement phase' unlocks all stratagems that can only be used during that phase.
It doesn't matter what it is "in GWs mind". The rules do not state that "as if" is the same as "is", so it isn't.


Actually it is. "As if" means "is". Rulebook 1.2 update :

Q: If the unit arriving as reinforcements is a Character,
can the firing unit shoot at it even if it is not the closest
enemy unit?
A: No – unless the firing unit is using a weapon that
allows them to target a Character even if it is not the
closest enemy unit. This takes place ‘as if it were the
Shooting phase’, so all the normal restrictions of the
Shooting phase still apply.
Again, Special Snowflake FAQ that applies to a single action. Until we get an faq that says "Treat 'as if' as 'is'", nothing has changed.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Again, Special Snowflake FAQ that applies to a single action. Until we get an faq that says "Treat 'as if' as 'is'", nothing has changed.


It makes no sense to use the phrase "as if", if it doesnt mean all rules and restrictions of that phase apply.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: