Switch Theme:

Different Tau Shield Drone Question (Mortal Wounds)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Los Angeles, CA

When say an opponent targets one of your infantry or battlesuits that a friendly shield drone can intercept with like Smite or Hellfire Shells Strategem, do the shield drones reduce the potentially multiple mortal wounds to one mortal wound? Does smite even count as an attack?

4000
3000
3000
3500
3500 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Mortal Wounds are essentially multiple D1 attacks with special rules. Read the MW rules carefully. Each MW counts as a separate attack.

The “is a psychic power an attack?” has been endlessly debated by some. It very obviously is an attack. It’s not a psychic hug; it’s designed to kill.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 exploited751 wrote:
When say an opponent targets one of your infantry or battlesuits that a friendly shield drone can intercept with like Smite or Hellfire Shells Strategem, do the shield drones reduce the potentially multiple mortal wounds to one mortal wound? Does smite even count as an attack?
Each mortal wound has to be rolled for. A mortal wound is just a single damage wound with two extra rules, it automatically wounds and you can't make saves against it. If a unit was hit by smite for 3 mortal wounds you would have to make 3 attempts to intercept.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Los Angeles, CA

Thanks!

4000
3000
3000
3500
3500 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

But unlike most units, Shield Drones do get a save versus any Mortal Wound suffered per their Shield Generator rule.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 jeffersonian000 wrote:
But unlike most units, Shield Drones do get a save versus any Mortal Wound suffered per their Shield Generator rule.

SJ
You're asking for a nitpick there.

"Ignore Wounds" rolls are not saves and never will be. The entire reason the Shield Drone gets to roll to ignore wounds is explicitly because it is not a save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/25 20:09:02


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Smite is not an attack in the sense of the rules. An attack is with a ranged weapon or with a melee weapon, the rules tell you to make attacks with those. Smite is not an attack, you simply suffer MW as a result of a successful smite. Shield drones cannot intercept smites or other MW inflicted by psychic powers, because they are not attacks.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
Smite is not an attack in the sense of the rules. An attack is with a ranged weapon or with a melee weapon, the rules tell you to make attacks with those. Smite is not an attack, you simply suffer MW as a result of a successful smite. Shield drones cannot intercept smites or other MW inflicted by psychic powers, because they are not attacks.


Here we go again...

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
But unlike most units, Shield Drones do get a save versus any Mortal Wound suffered per their Shield Generator rule.

SJ
You're asking for a nitpick there.

"Ignore Wounds" rolls are not saves and never will be. The entire reason the Shield Drone gets to roll to ignore wounds is explicitly because it is not a save.

Shield Generator specifically states that any Wounds lost can be ignored on d6 roll, so not sure where the nitpick is unless the goal is to be pedantic over the common term “save”.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

There are multiple rules that impact Saves that do not apply to Ignore Wounds rules. It is therefore good form to never refer to one as the other
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 JohnnyHell wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Smite is not an attack in the sense of the rules. An attack is with a ranged weapon or with a melee weapon, the rules tell you to make attacks with those. Smite is not an attack, you simply suffer MW as a result of a successful smite. Shield drones cannot intercept smites or other MW inflicted by psychic powers, because they are not attacks.


Here we go again...


Well, he's right. New FAQ:

Q: For the purposes of the Saviour Protocols ability, what exactly
constitutes an attack?
A: In this context, it is an attack made with a ranged or
melee weapon.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Jacksmiles wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Smite is not an attack in the sense of the rules. An attack is with a ranged weapon or with a melee weapon, the rules tell you to make attacks with those. Smite is not an attack, you simply suffer MW as a result of a successful smite. Shield drones cannot intercept smites or other MW inflicted by psychic powers, because they are not attacks.


Here we go again...


Well, he's right. New FAQ:

Q: For the purposes of the Saviour Protocols ability, what exactly
constitutes an attack?
A: In this context, it is an attack made with a ranged or
melee weapon.
To be fair, he made that post before the new FAQ.

Hooray for clarifying ambiguous rules though patchwork FAQs instead of writing the rules properly!
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Smite is not an attack in the sense of the rules. An attack is with a ranged weapon or with a melee weapon, the rules tell you to make attacks with those. Smite is not an attack, you simply suffer MW as a result of a successful smite. Shield drones cannot intercept smites or other MW inflicted by psychic powers, because they are not attacks.


Here we go again...


Well, he's right. New FAQ:

Q: For the purposes of the Saviour Protocols ability, what exactly
constitutes an attack?
A: In this context, it is an attack made with a ranged or
melee weapon.
To be fair, he made that post before the new FAQ.

Hooray for clarifying ambiguous rules though patchwork FAQs instead of writing the rules properly!


That doesn't make him wrong at the time, to be fair.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Jacksmiles wrote:

That doesn't make him wrong at the time, to be fair.


He was wrong at that time. Smite was not an attack back then, and now its confirmed that it isnt.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 p5freak wrote:
Jacksmiles wrote:

That doesn't make him wrong at the time, to be fair.


He was wrong at that time. Smite was not an attack back then, and now its confirmed that it isnt.


"him" is you. I might have mixed up who BCB was saying was "him," but mine was you. If BCB meant "he" to be JohnnyHell without saying so when "he" was previously you would be grammatically confusing. If you check the context, I said you were right as the first post I made in here.

Edit: clarification.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/09/28 16:23:29


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: