Switch Theme:

Soul Burner Petard rolling 1s  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User





Each successful hit roll made with this weapon inflicts a mortal wound instead of the normal damage. If any
hit roll made in a given phase results in a score or a ‘1’,
then the firing unit suffers one mortal wound. This effect can only occur once per phase regardless of how many
results of ‘1’ are rolled.


If a Chaos Decimator fires both soulburner petards during the shooting phase and rolls 1 for both weapons, do they take 1 or 2 mortal wounds.

I understand it to be that it takes two mortal wounds as each weapon rolled a separate 1 for the hit roll.

I am told that its special rule over rides this and the model only takes 1 mortal wound.

I am finding it very hard to find clarification for this.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I'd say only 1 can be inflicted, as it states the "effect can only occur once per phase", rather than "this effect can only happen once for each weapon".
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The way it's written you suffer one MW for each weapon if the result of the hit roll is 1. Note that you can work around this if you get +1 to hit rolls. You would fail to wound if you roll a natural 1, but the result would be 2. So no MW for you. Just like plasma can't blow up if you get +1 to hit rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/26 11:59:35


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It all depends on whether you interpret "This effect can only occur once per phase regardless of how many results of ‘1’ are rolled." as being global or local to the weapon being fired.

In short, both answers are correct because GW can't write rules despite 40 years of experience.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

True, after giving it some more thought, its ambiguous. It could be only one MW per phase total, or one for each weapon per phase. It's FW, so don't expect a fix anytime soon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: