Switch Theme:

Wrapping with pile in and consolidate  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior



Canada

For some reason, I think a youtube battle report I saw someone use pile in and consolidate to basically "wrap around" to get more guys in by starting 0.9" away from the closest enemy and finishing 0.5" but 3" away from its starting position to the side and then 0.25 etc. As I was playing a game today my opponent informed me that I can not do that. I was just looking for clarification on why I cannot do that as the rules for pile in say "You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.". My assumption is that I am moving closer by going from 0.9 " from base contact to 0.5".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/10 04:15:22


 
   
Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




Hanoi, Vietnam.

Are you really measuring distances in tenths of an inch? That must take forever!
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior



Canada

 Ginjitzu wrote:
Are you really measuring distances in tenths of an inch? That must take forever!


That was more just to be more clear what is going on and what I'm asking about.
   
Made in gb
Waaagh! Ork Warboss





Ozomoto wrote:
For some reason, I think a youtube battle report I saw someone use pile in and consolidate to basically "wrap around" to get more guys in by starting 0.9" away from the closest enemy and finishing 0.5" but 3" away from its starting position to the side and then 0.25 etc. As I was playing a game today my opponent informed me that I can not do that. I was just looking for clarification on why I cannot do that as the rules for pile in say "You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.". My assumption is that I am moving closer by going from 0.9 " from base contact to 0.5".

Your opponent was wrong, that's perfectly legal to do "so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model." Did you ask your opponent for any clarification or did you just accept them at their word?

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. Zoom in to read them. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect; and vehicles that are "slain" by a special effect do not trigger the "Explodes" ability.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





What in the world does your opponent think "any direction" means? How could he ever justify this?
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior



Canada

 JimOnMars wrote:
What in the world does your opponent think "any direction" means? How could he ever justify this?



He said something about how a judge came over and ruled that you couldn't do that at some point from one of his opponents. This was my first non tau game in 8th so I had no idea how combat worked as I never charged anything before.
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets





Cardiff

Judge is wrong (if even real). Opponent was wrong. You can do what you wanted to do.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Ozomoto wrote:
 JimOnMars wrote:
What in the world does your opponent think "any direction" means? How could he ever justify this?



He said something about how a judge came over and ruled that you couldn't do that at some point from one of his opponents. This was my first non tau game in 8th so I had no idea how combat worked as I never charged anything before.


Sounds like you were fed a line. As Johnny said, even if real, that judge too was dead wrong.
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Not putting your models in base contact so you have some liberty in your pile-in and consolidation moves is what the fight phase is all about (that and konga lining on the charge move so you still have auras/get closer to other units).
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





fresus wrote:
Not putting your models in base contact so you have some liberty in your pile-in and consolidation moves is what the fight phase is all about (that and konga lining on the charge move so you still have auras/get closer to other units).
Or also to punish those who conga line so they're unable to pile in because it'll break coherency by attacking two ends of the line.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Its often queried because its completely different from how 40k used to work and is a new tactic. It's perfectly legal and a cornerstone of tactical combat play in 8th edition.

Your pile-in and consolidate merely need to get the model you move closer than it was to the closet model. Since you only have to be within 1" to make a charge there are many tactics you can employ using this by micro moves and staying out of b2b including wrapping around.

The other main tactic is to use pile in and consolidates to engage other units you did not charge so they are engaged and will need to fall back next turn and potentially not shoot.

This is why a big charge roll in 8th is a potential god send and you need to use it well instead of just plonking models forwards in a straight line. The charge phase takes two key restrictions:
- first model you move needs to make it within 1" of one of the target units
- you cant't move within 1" of a unit you are not charging.
If you get a big roll you can do all sorts of stuff because the charge move makes no mention of closest. Means you can be very cunning with setups for you pileins and consolodates

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/10/12 11:41:03


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: