Switch Theme:

Do "Exploding 6's" allow another full number of shots/attacks?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Just browsing 1D4Chan's Daemon tactics article, and this came up about a Khorne Relic

This Crown is also for shooting, so 1 lord, some skull cannons, when they wound on a 6's they can make an additional 1 Heavy D6 salvo (yes thats how it works by wording of the Death Guard FAQ read the part about mortarions weapons 'Silence').


Now I know 1D4Chan has to be taken with a pinch (several?) of salt, but I don't ever recall this being in the rules. Silence states "Make 3 hit rolls for every attack made with this weapon", so if you get another attack such as from DttFE, you can make 3 hit rolls. I obviouslt want to say the above quote is incorrect, but has there been a ruling I've been unaware of that lets you attack with the full weapon stats?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Valkyrie wrote:
Just browsing 1D4Chan's Daemon tactics article, and this came up about a Khorne Relic

This Crown is also for shooting, so 1 lord, some skull cannons, when they wound on a 6's they can make an additional 1 Heavy D6 salvo (yes thats how it works by wording of the Death Guard FAQ read the part about mortarions weapons 'Silence').


Now I know 1D4Chan has to be taken with a pinch (several?) of salt, but I don't ever recall this being in the rules. Silence states "Make 3 hit rolls for every attack made with this weapon", so if you get another attack such as from DttFE, you can make 3 hit rolls. I obviouslt want to say the above quote is incorrect, but has there been a ruling I've been unaware of that lets you attack with the full weapon stats?


I don't see anything in the Death Guard FAQ, but the idea looks legit.

It's unusual wording when applied to shooting, which implies to me it's an unintended interaction.

Nevertheless, it appears to be RAW.

EDIT: note that normally when 6's explode on a shooting attack, the wording is not "make an extra attack" it is "make an extra hit roll" or something like that. If the intention is to shoot all the weapons shots again, such as with a Space Marine Ancient, the wording is "shoot with a weapon" or similar.

Which is what makes me think this is unintentional.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/10/18 10:12:28


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Each time you make a wound roll of 6+ for a friendly KHORNE DAEMON unit within 6" of the bearer of the Crimson Crown, the model that made that attack can immediately make an extra attack against the same target using the same weapon. These extra attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks.


Q: If Mortarion attacks an Imperium unit with Silence (using
the eviscerating blow profile), and the hit roll is a 6 (allowing
him to make an extra attack with Silence due to the Death to the
False Emperor ability), does the extra attack have to be made
using the same profile, or can it be made with the weapon’s other
profile (reaping scythe) instead?
A: The extra attack can be made using either profile.


This tells us that you can choose a profile, when a weapon has more than one. It doesnt say you roll a D6. It says "the extra attack", which is singular. Thus, the skull cannon can only make one extra attack.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
Each time you make a wound roll of 6+ for a friendly KHORNE DAEMON unit within 6" of the bearer of the Crimson Crown, the model that made that attack can immediately make an extra attack against the same target using the same weapon. These extra attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks.


Q: If Mortarion attacks an Imperium unit with Silence (using
the eviscerating blow profile), and the hit roll is a 6 (allowing
him to make an extra attack with Silence due to the Death to the
False Emperor ability), does the extra attack have to be made
using the same profile, or can it be made with the weapon’s other
profile (reaping scythe) instead?
A: The extra attack can be made using either profile.


This tells us that you can choose a profile, when a weapon has more than one. It doesnt say you roll a D6. It says "the extra attack", which is singular. Thus, the skull cannon can only make one extra attack.


A shooting attack with a weapon (singular) encompasses all the shots that weapon makes though. As per Chapter Ancients.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/18 10:15:19


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Stux wrote:

A shooting attack with a weapon (singular) encompasses all the shots that weapon makes though. As per Chapter Ancients.


The chapter ancient rule is different, and has nothing to do with this discussion.

....On a 4+ that model musters one last surge of strength before succumbing to its wounds; it can either shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase, or make a single attack as if it were the Fight phase.


It tells us to shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase. The crown tells us to make an extra attack against the same target using the same weapon.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

A shooting attack with a weapon (singular) encompasses all the shots that weapon makes though. As per Chapter Ancients.


The chapter ancient rule is different, and has nothing to do with this discussion.

....On a 4+ that model musters one last surge of strength before succumbing to its wounds; it can either shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase, or make a single attack as if it were the Fight phase.


It tells us to shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase. The crown tells us to make an extra attack against the same target using the same weapon.


Show a rule that clearly states a shooting attack is one shot then.
   
Made in gb
Excited Doom Diver





 Stux wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 Stux wrote:

A shooting attack with a weapon (singular) encompasses all the shots that weapon makes though. As per Chapter Ancients.


The chapter ancient rule is different, and has nothing to do with this discussion.

....On a 4+ that model musters one last surge of strength before succumbing to its wounds; it can either shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase, or make a single attack as if it were the Fight phase.


It tells us to shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase. The crown tells us to make an extra attack against the same target using the same weapon.


Show a rule that clearly states a shooting attack is one shot then.

P. 179, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph - "Number of attacks"
Each time a model shoots a ranged weapon, it will make a number of attacks. You roll one dice for each attack being made. The number of attacks a model can make with a weapon, and therefore the number of dice you can roll, is found on the weapon's profile, along with the weapon's type...

P. 180, 1st column, 1st paragraph - "Weapon Types"
... a model firing a 'Heavy 3' weapon can make 3 attacks...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/18 10:51:31


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Thank you. Ok, I accept your position.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






To expand on what others have said, an "attack" is just a single shot, while "shoot again" is all shots. Look at the Volley Fire stratagem in Codex: Astra Copywritum for an example of an effect that lets you fire the weapon fully a second time.
   
Made in se
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Sweden

Otherwise, imagine the gorkanaut gattler with 18 shots rolling another 18 shots for each 6 (dakkadakka rule) . It would be absurd

Brutal, but kunning!  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Gitdakka wrote:
Otherwise, imagine the gorkanaut gattler with 18 shots rolling another 18 shots for each 6 (dakkadakka rule) . It would be absurd


That ability is actuated worded differently. It just says make an additional hit roll, not attack.

It's been proven now that that doesn't make a difference, but Dakka^3 is at least much clearer on this!
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Well, this sucks. That was the strategy for my khorne list, based off the info from 1T4chan. Blast! I guess I’ll figure something else out (like my Kytan, maybe.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 timetowaste85 wrote:
Well, this sucks. That was the strategy for my khorne list, based off the info from 1T4chan. Blast! I guess I’ll figure something else out (like my Kytan, maybe.


Yeah, 1d4chan is possibly the last place I'd go to for rules explanations I'm afraid!

I caught one page claiming the charge rolled needed from standard deep strike was 8.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






1D4chan, as the name implies, has a tendency of deliberately giving false information. They are pure Chaotic Neutral, just as likely to stab you as to give you the shirt off their back.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
1D4chan, as the name implies, has a tendency of deliberately giving false information. They are pure Chaotic Neutral, just as likely to stab you as to give you the shirt off their back.


Pretty good summary!

It's a fun website for the most part, I do enjoy browsing it and it's generally nowhere near as toxic as you'd expect somewhere with '4chan' in its name to be.

That said, it does not have rigorous standards for rules accuracy!
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

It’s okay. I’ll just use the Crimson Crown combo’d with a FW Kytan for hilarity in a 1k pt game/ 50PL game. Less cannons, more giant stomps robot.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: