Switch Theme:

Resolving Deffkopta BigBomms  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Hi Guys, me again,

I've been reading the rules for deffkoptas, as I'm interested in taking them, and the wording for bigbomms makes me wonder how to resolve them, as they are one use only and will likely cause issues in game if I use them how I think they should be.

The wording in the index states that "After a deffkopta has moved, pick one enemy unit that it flew over. Then, roll a D6 for each model..." etcetera. In the movement rules, it states to "Pick one of your units and move each model in that unit until you've moved all the models you want to".

So, my question; Do I resolve bigbomms one at a time, as I move each model, thereby allowing me to move the deffkoptas over a unit one at a time, bomm it one at a time, until I have decided that the unit is dead enough and can move remaining models over different units, or stop dropping bomms? Such a manouever will add a lot of usefulness to the koptas, but may be seen as unsporting or incorrect. This is as opposed to moving all the koptas, then dropping bomms all at once.

This separation of the models then calls into question what happens regarding unit coherency. For example, deffkopta 1 moves over unit 1, then drops a bomm. Deffkopta 2 moves over unit 2, not in coherency with kopta 1, and drops a bomm. kopta 3 moves in between, but doesn't quite bring the unit back into coherency. If either of the first koptas are moved back into coherency, they wouldn't have passed over the units they bommed. Furthermore, the rules state that "No model can be moved more than once in each movement phase". As such, what do we do to resolve this? The unit is no longer in coherency, and cannot be moved back into coherency, so should we A: Turn back the clock, undrop the bomms and move the koptas to coherency, or B: apply the section of the "Units" rule which states "If anything causes a unit to become split up during a battle, it must re-establish it's unit coherency the next time it moves"?

I think it will be the turn back time option, as the "Units" rule states that they must end the move as a group.

Further question: Can a deffkopta move in a non-straight line to drop a bomm, provided it doesn't move further than its movement? The rules state to move "in any direction", but this could mean pick a direction and move in it, as opposed to move in a squiggly line provided it's not too far.

Cheers!

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As usual, GWs writing is sloppy. As I read it you need to resolve them one at a time, immediately after moving the individual model.

As for coherency, you cannot move a unit in such a way that it breaks coherency. All models at the end of the move must be in coherency. If this forces you to move the 3rd Deffkopta to keep coherency and miss a target, then you miss the target.

As for moving in a non-straight line, that's perfectly fine too. Since they can FLY there shouldn't be any need to not move in a straight line, but you can if you want. You are still limited to your maximum move though, you can't spiral inwards 60" but end up 2" from where you start, for example.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/23 14:53:29


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The new codex is coming out in less than 2 weeks. At this point you'd probably be better off waiting that time and seeing what the rules are in the new codex.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






 BaconCatBug wrote:
As usual, GWs writing is sloppy. As I read it you need to resolve them one at a time, immediately after moving the individual model.

As for coherency, you cannot move a unit in such a way that it breaks coherency. All models at the end of the move must be in coherency. If this forces you to move the 3rd Deffkopta to keep coherency and miss a target, then you miss the target.

As for moving in a non-straight line, that's perfectly fine too. Since they can FLY there shouldn't be any need to not move in a straight line, but you can if you want. You are still limited to your maximum move though, you can't spiral inwards 60" but end up 2" from where you start, for example.


This is true, my concern was that the deffkoptas don't have to stay in coherency during their move, only after it. as they resolve things during their move, that defines where they finish as their final position, and they cannot be moved again. So if deffkopta 1 and 2 are far apart, and only just go over 2 units which they have already bombed, and then it transpires that deffkopta 3, which isn't trying to bomm anyone, can't quite bridge the gap between them to keep coherency, what do you do? do you shuffle them back in to maintain coherency, and in so doing bomm a unit which you hadn't flown over, and also move a model twice in the same movement phase, both of which are against the rules?

Personally I would un-resolve the bomm, apologise and change how the kopta moved. seems the best way to resolve.

Now, regarding how the rule is written, and in a bizarre way of looking at it, can you move models in pairs, independently of the rest of the squad?

The rule states that "every model must be within 2" horizontally and 6" vertically of at least one other model from their unit". Technically, a unit of 4 models on opposite ends of the board, in pairs, is fulfilling this requirement.

A dick move, yes, and clearly not RAI, but legal RAW?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/23 15:56:46


12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 some bloke wrote:
Technically, a unit of 4 models on opposite ends of the board, in pairs, is fulfilling this requirement.

A dick move, yes, and clearly not RAI, but legal RAW?
They Special Snowflake FAQed that to not be permitted.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 some bloke wrote:
Technically, a unit of 4 models on opposite ends of the board, in pairs, is fulfilling this requirement.

A dick move, yes, and clearly not RAI, but legal RAW?
They Special Snowflake FAQed that to not be permitted.


Cheers, I thought it would have been, and had no intention to play it like that (how to lose friends...).

Any thoughts on the deffkoptas moving scenario?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The rules assume that you're not going to be breaking them. It doesn't account for you not following them.

The game breaks and defaults back to TMIR, so make of that what you will.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




deffkoptaz lost their bigbooms in the codex... so yeah dont bother thinking about it
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





RedNoak wrote:
deffkoptaz lost their bigbooms in the codex... so yeah dont bother thinking about it


Still an option from their wargear block in the index as per the Designer Commentary, so koptas will be dropping bombs for a long time to come.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: