Switch Theme:

Question about Cloud of Flies strategem.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






How do. A while back I posted this in another thread on 40k general-

 Grimtuff wrote:



One that currently irritates me ATM, as I can't really explain it in any adequate way to a semi regular opponent of mine to show him he's wrong is the DG Strategem "Could of Flies" where he believes you can target characters behind the unit (so long as there are not any other units closer etc. etc.) as the unit is now "like a character" because it cannot be targeted unless it's the closest visible target. No, it just means that. It does not make the unit a character so therefore same rules apply.


Now, I've had no one correcting me and I just want to make sure that I am right and he is wrong on this, as it's been bugging me for some time as I'm 99% sure I'm correct but (as I say above) cannot explain why.

Here's the rules for Cloud of Flies
Use this strategem during your movement phase. Select a Death Guard Infantry unit. Until the start of your next movement phase, enemy models can only shoot this unit if it is the closest visible target


Thanks in advance.


Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





You are correct.

It doesn't label the unit a CHARACTER, therefore they do not count as one for the purposes of the Character rule.

That's all there is to it!
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stux wrote:
You are correct.

It doesn't label the unit a CHARACTER, therefore they do not count as one for the purposes of the Character rule.

That's all there is to it!
This is it in a nutshell. Just because something is similar to X doesn't make it X. The same way that a "Intercessor" is not the same as an "Intercessor Sergeant".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: