Switch Theme:

Murdersword foregoing wound rolling vs chosen character?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





With successful hits with the Murdersword vs the chosen character, do you skip rolling to wound, or do you still have to / get to roll even though the hit automatically scores a mortal wound?

"Each attack made with the Murder Sword that hits the selected character automatically inflicts a mortal wound upon that character instead of the normal damage."

Essentially, I want to know if these attacks allow/disallow triggers on wound rolls even though the attack does wound even without having to roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/02 02:01:48


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Dactylartha wrote:
With successful hits with the Murdersword vs the chosen character, do you skip rolling to wound, or do you still have to / get to roll even though the hit automatically scores a mortal wound?

"Each attack made with the Murder Sword that hits the selected character automatically inflicts a mortal wound upon that character instead of the normal damage."

Essentially, I want to know if these attacks allow/disallow triggers on wound rolls even though the attack does wound even without having to roll.

No, if you don't roll to wound, you can't trigger things that happen on wound rolls. There is a clarificatory FAQ regarding hit rolls in the BRB FAQ:
Q: Some abilities and Stratagems confer extra bonuses each time a hit roll of, for example, 6+ is rolled. If a weapon has an ability that says ‘this weapon automatically hits its target’, do I still roll the hit rolls for those attacks in the hope of gaining such a bonus?
A: No, no hit rolls are made when resolving attacks with such weapons (and so they will never benefit from such a bonus).
Even if we disregard this FAQ, the fact that "Each attack made with the Murder Sword that hits the selected character automatically inflicts a mortal wound upon that character instead of the normal damage." means you inflict a mortal wound instead of rolling to wound, and the rules for mortal wounds say "Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/02 02:08:22


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





That's what I was looking for - I missed it. Thanks.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: