Switch Theme:

Dark Matter Crystal and Warptime  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

The most recent FAQ has altered some wording, namely this bit:
Spring FAQ 1 wrote:
Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
A: Yes. Treat such units as if they are arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements.


Fall FAQ 2 wrote:
Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
A: Yes.


Does this mean that, where it was previously illegal, it is now legal to DMC a blob of Tzaangors and then, after placing them back on the table, cast Warptime on that unit in the subsequent psychic phase?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






No, because even without the FAQ they still are Reinforcements, as defined in the BRB. The FAQ says reinforcements cannot move further that turn, thus you cannot Warptime a unit that has been DMC'd. It was previously legal to do so, then made illegal by the FAQ preventing reinforcements from moving again that turn. That hasn't changed and it's still illegal to do so.

That is the RaW (What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say) answer. Whether or not you accept that is up to you.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/11/13 16:18:45


 
   
Made in gb
Excited Doom Diver





 Elric Greywolf wrote:
The most recent FAQ has altered some wording, namely this bit:
Spring FAQ 1 wrote:
Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
A: Yes. Treat such units as if they are arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements.


Fall FAQ 2 wrote:
Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
A: Yes.


Does this mean that, where it was previously illegal, it is now legal to DMC a blob of Tzaangors and then, after placing them back on the table, cast Warptime on that unit in the subsequent psychic phase?

This has recently been debated in some depth - see here for a recent thread. There's not a consensus one way or the other as the term "reinforcements" is not explicitly defined.

EDIT: BCB has summarised one side of the debate quite effectively, but I would recommend you check the linked thread to properly understand both sides.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/13 16:30:26


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Aelyn wrote:

This has recently been debated in some depth - see here for a recent thread. There's not a consensus one way or the other as the term "reinforcements" is not explicitly defined.


Thanks!

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: