Switch Theme:

Shotguns and "Forwards, for the emperor!"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






So, the gist of this is:

model may fire assault weapons after advancing but at -1 to hit
A model with an Assault weapon can fire
it even if it Advanced earlier that turn. If
it does so, you must subtract 1 from any
hit rolls made when firing that weapon
this turn

"Forwards, for the emperor" allows a unit to shoot even if it advances (note - it doesn't say "shoot normally", which might be key):
The ordered unit can shoot this phase even if it advanced in its Movement Phase


so, if I have a unit of veterans with shotguns, and the unit advances and has this order issued to them, are they at -1 to hit with their shotguns? it seems RAW they would be, and RAI they wouldn't...

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




They'd be at -1 still. In other words, the strategem is wasted on a unit that already has the ability to do it. Save it for your lasguns.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Same deal as with other interactions. Intent is no penalty, but the strict RAW is that you still get the -1.

Shoot normally is not the operative phrase. A unit that Advances cannot shoot unless it has some other rule allowing it. By permitting shooting a regular round of no penalty shooting is granted, unless a modifier is imposed as part of that rule a la Assault weapons.

HIWPI is that the unit wouldn’t get the -1 for any weapons other than Heavy if FFTE is played on them (it’s still moved so Heavy gets its regular penalty). Treat it like regular Movement.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Thommy H wrote:
They'd be at -1 still. In other words, the strategem is wasted on a unit that already has the ability to do it. Save it for your lasguns.


I thought as much.

Now, the next question is, can they fire a heavy weapon (EG heavy flamer), as the rule simply states that they can shoot, and not that they can shoot normally?

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 some bloke wrote:
Thommy H wrote:
They'd be at -1 still. In other words, the strategem is wasted on a unit that already has the ability to do it. Save it for your lasguns.


I thought as much.

Now, the next question is, can they fire a heavy weapon (EG heavy flamer), as the rule simply states that they can shoot, and not that they can shoot normally?


Shoot means shoot normally. Shoot with other conditions would state other conditions.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 some bloke wrote:
Thommy H wrote:
They'd be at -1 still. In other words, the strategem is wasted on a unit that already has the ability to do it. Save it for your lasguns.


I thought as much.

Now, the next question is, can they fire a heavy weapon (EG heavy flamer), as the rule simply states that they can shoot, and not that they can shoot normally?
Yes, Forwards, for the Emperor allows them to shoot even if they advanced, which means Heavy Weapons can be shot just fine (but with a -1 to hit because you moved).

Also obligatory "See my sig".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: