Switch Theme:

Units in an open-topped vehicle - what abilities can they use?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

So, in the latest ork faq, it clarified that units inside a vehicle are ineligible targets for stratagems.

Additionally, I know that when in a vehicle, units can't benefit from other unit's auras (kaptin badrukk letting flash gitz reroll 1s, for example).

But are there any limitations on the unit's own abilities that a unit may utilize when shooting out of a vehicle? Things like flash gitz' 'gun-crazy showoffs' rule, bad moons/deffskull klan kultur rerolls, tankbusta rerolls, ammo runts, and the like? Do these still apply?

I can't think of a reason why they wouldn't, but I guess I'm curious. The entire 'unit doesn't exist until it does for shooting purposes' interaction is a bit odd.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The unit's own abilities on its data sheet work just fine when embarked.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
The unit's own abilities on its data sheet work just fine when embarked.


Agreed. The unit gets to be affected by its own abilities.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Agreed.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ar
Been Around the Block





Some will say that they dont get to use any ability because the BRB says something like "normally an embarked unit can not be affected by anything"
We had a discussion about this a couple of weeks ago.

I am with those who say that yes, you get to use the abilities.

According to those who suport the "you dont get to be affected by anything" your bomb squigs wouldt die after shooting, flamers dont autohit, plasma exploding doesnt do anything to the bearer, dakkadakkadakka doesnt work, tankbustas dont get to reroll hits, no clan kultur benefits, etc...

You can take a look here (its a long thread)
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766706.page

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/11/30 00:04:05


 
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

 Grotsnik1 wrote:
Some will say that they dont get to use any ability because the BRB says something like "normally an embarked unit can not be affected by anything"
We had a discussion about this a couple of weeks ago.

I am with those who say that yes, you get to use the abilities.

According to those who suport the "you dont get to be affected by anything" your bomb squigs wouldt die after shooting, flamers dont autohit, plasma exploding doesnt do anything to the bearer, dakkadakkadakka doesnt work, tankbustas dont get to reroll hits, no clan kultur benefits, etc...

You can take a look here (its a long thread)
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766706.page


Units embarked don't get the benefits from external sources, simple. Like characters' auras or stratagems. All their basic rules, like the kultur bonuses or special abilities, and wargear work as usual. Also the modifiers that affect the vehicle are transfered to the crew embarked, that's the case for the freebooterz kultur for example.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/30 07:50:22


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Blackie wrote:


Units embarked don't get the benefits from external sources, simple. Like characters' auras or stratagems. All their basic rules, like the kultur bonuses or special abilities, and wargear work as usual.


That is not what the transport rule in the core rules is saying.

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked.


 Blackie wrote:

Also the modifiers that affect the vehicle are transfered to the crew embarked, that's the case for the freebooterz kultur for example.



Agreed.
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

 p5freak wrote:
 Blackie wrote:


Units embarked don't get the benefits from external sources, simple. Like characters' auras or stratagems. All their basic rules, like the kultur bonuses or special abilities, and wargear work as usual.


That is not what the transport rule in the core rules is saying.

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any
way whilst they are embarked.





Because they're technically not affected by anything. Tankbustas can re-roll hits against vehicles for example, this is not something that affect tankbustas, is part of their basic profille. Like the kultur bonuses, a bad moons unit can re-roll 1s while embarked because that ability is part of its profile, not something that affects the unit.

Units cannot do anything but open topped rules allows them to shoot as normal. So all their rules are applied, since they're part of their basic shooting, not something that affects them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/30 09:05:27


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Blackie wrote:

Because they're technically not affected by anything. Tankbustas can re-roll hits against vehicles for example, this is not something that affect tankbustas, is part of their basic profille. Like the kultur bonuses, a bad moons unit can re-roll 1s while embarked because that ability is part of its profile, not something that affects the unit.


They are affected by their own rules on their own datasheet, which is not allowed by the transport rule.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 Blackie wrote:

Because they're technically not affected by anything. Tankbustas can re-roll hits against vehicles for example, this is not something that affect tankbustas, is part of their basic profille. Like the kultur bonuses, a bad moons unit can re-roll 1s while embarked because that ability is part of its profile, not something that affects the unit.


They are affected by their own rules on their own datasheet, which is not allowed by the transport rule.


Good thing it is allowed by the shooting rules...

If they were not "affected by their own rules on their own datasheet" then they could not shoot at all, as the number of shots, Str, and Damage of the weapons on their own Datashhet would not be used.

Clearly this is not the case. so your argument is incorrect.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The open topped rule gives them permission to shoot in their shooting phase, using all the rules of the shooting phase, thats all they get to do when embarked on an open topped transport, no more, no less.
   
Made in ar
Been Around the Block





 Blackie wrote:
 Grotsnik1 wrote:
Some will say that they dont get to use any ability because the BRB says something like "normally an embarked unit can not be affected by anything"
We had a discussion about this a couple of weeks ago.

I am with those who say that yes, you get to use the abilities.

According to those who suport the "you dont get to be affected by anything" your bomb squigs wouldt die after shooting, flamers dont autohit, plasma exploding doesnt do anything to the bearer, dakkadakkadakka doesnt work, tankbustas dont get to reroll hits, no clan kultur benefits, etc...

You can take a look here (its a long thread)
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766706.page


Units embarked don't get the benefits from external sources, simple. Like characters' auras or stratagems. All their basic rules, like the kultur bonuses or special abilities, and wargear work as usual. Also the modifiers that affect the vehicle are transfered to the crew embarked, that's the case for the freebooterz kultur for example.


Yeah, I know how it works, but as you can see some people dont agree, there is no point in starting the same argument again, all points were made in the closed thread that I linked before.
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

 p5freak wrote:
The open topped rule gives them permission to shoot in their shooting phase, using all the rules of the shooting phase, thats all they get to do when embarked on an open topped transport, no more, no less.


Yes and in order to do that you need to use the unit's profile. BS, type of weapon, etc... You shoot using the unit's datasheet, with everything that comes in it, including bonuses that are native ones or permanet ones that are gained before the battle begins and became part of the datasheet. No more, no less.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/30 10:06:25


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Grotsnik1 wrote:


Yeah, I know how it works, but as you can see some people dont agree, there is no point in starting the same argument again, all points were made in the closed thread that I linked before.


This. The thread got very heated, went around in circles, and some people concluded that they shoot in a magical way which ignores any non-standard rule for shooting, meaning that a battlewagon can be filled with bomm squigs which don't die after running at the enemy and exploding, because that would "Affect" them. Literally, they would just select weapon, fire weapon, resolve damage, and ignore any other rules inbuilt in the weapon which could "Affect" the model - like plasma cannons overheating. I guess it makes lootas immune to the -1 to hit fliers, as that would "Affect" them. I guess it would also mean you cannot disembark a vehicle, as this would "Affect" whether the unit is in the vehicle, so it cannot be done. Nor can you move the vehicle, as this "Affects" where the unit will be when it disembarks, or, for that matter, even deploy the vehicle, as this "Affects" whether the unit is in a vehicle on the table or not. Nor could you try to kill the enemy, as this would "Affect" whether the embarked unit could shoot at that target. thus any units embarked in a vehicle would, logically, never even be deployed for fear of "Affecting" the unit inside.

Other people sensibly concluded that open topped lets you shoot, which triggers any rules relating to shooting as normal.

3 guesses which camp I'm in?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/30 10:23:50


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

seems we're done then.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: