Switch Theme:

Transport Disembark distance (within) - Solved  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

The disembark rules specify "Within" not "Wholly within". So can I deploy a model with part of it more than 3" from a Transport?

For instance, lets say that I have a Trukk that is exactly 12.01" away from a unit of guardsmen. I disembark my Meganobz (40mm base), and move them their full 4" movement closer to the Guardsmen. What charge roll will I need to make that charge.

The way I have been playing it.
3" (disembark) + 4" movement = 7" so I'd need a 5" charge.

The way I might have been supposed to play it.
3" (disembark) + 1.5" base + 4" movement = 8.5" so I'd only need a 3" charge.


Question 2, so if guardsmen surround my Trukk 1 rank thick, and kill it, can my Meganobz safely disembark? Guardsmen 0.99" from trukk. Guardsment base less than 1". So guardsment are for the sake of argument 1.9" away from the trukk. And I have to be more than 1" away from them after I disembark. So I have to be 2.9" away from the trukk. Can I do that and still be "Within 3" of the trukk?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/02 05:24:48


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You just need a sliver of each model’s base within 3”, not the whole base.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/01 23:59:14


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Warhammer 40,000 Main Rulebook FAQ:

Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"?

A: It means any distance up to and including 1".

Q: Can you clarify what the difference is between ‘wholly within’ and ‘within’ for rules purposes?

A: If a rule says it affects units/models that are ‘wholly within’ then it only applies if the entire unit/model is within. If it just says ‘within’, however, then it applies so long as any part of the unit/model is within. For example, units gain the benefit of cover if every model in the unit is either on or within terrain. So long as all the models in that unit are either on or partially within the terrain, they gain the benefit of cover.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

I like asking 'Is it this or that?' questions on YMDC.

And I like even more, getting responses that go with the set up.
tag8833 wrote:
The way I might have been supposed to play it.
3" (disembark) + 1.5" base + 4" movement = 8.5" so I'd only need a 3" charge.

To answer you: this option, the shorter charge.

tag8833 wrote:
Question 2, so if guardsmen surround my Trukk 1 rank thick, and kill it, can my Meganobz safely disembark? Guardsmen 0.99" from trukk. Guardsment base less than 1". So guardsment are for the sake of argument 1.9" away from the trukk. And I have to be more than 1" away from them after I disembark. So I have to be 2.9" away from the trukk. Can I do that and still be "Within 3" of the trukk?

Yes, he should be able to disembark with 2 items satisfied (which you stated, but I'm restating to confirm):
a. just the rim of the Meganobz's base at that 2.9 inch mark from the turkk's hull
and
b. as long as the guardsmen models are still 1+ inch away

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: