Switch Theme:

Embark on Valkyrie, disembark on Valkyrie  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:
BRB Page 183 wrote:
Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn. Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons (pg 180).


Notice the act normally part of the disembark. As a unit has disembarked before the transport has moved it can then move. however beacuse of the FAQ

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes. (BRB FAQ pg6)

This now means that if the transport has moved the unit inside has moved. If the unit was acting normally would it be able to move twice?
No one can move twice, but no unit does, because "if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase" does that unit "count as having moved for any rules purposes"

If you move them, that part of the rule does not apply and you are only moving them once not twice.

Ergo you can disembark and then move the unit. Note that if you do not move the unit that unit does count as having moved for any rules purposes (But that does not happen until the end of the phase).
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:


Right, that is how it works for normal transports/disembarking before the transport moves.

But for a Valk disembarking units after it has moved how does it work? The BRB FAQ states the unit inside has moved, thus you cannot move after the disembark as you are moving the unit twice.


That is not how it works though. You are only moving the model once. You count as having moved, but once you disembark and move that is all a part of the same move.
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No it doesn't. His point is that it would prevent them from moving after they disembark since they can't move twice and the wording of the actual rule proves that they can.


The rules is sequential. This is how I understand the rule for a normal transport.

1. You disembark, you place the model on the table within 3 inches of the transport. (At this point the model is not counting as moving)
2. You can now act normally, this means you can move/advance.
3. If you chose to stay still after disembarking the model is classed as having moved for rules purposes. In my mind this also means you cannot disembark a unit, move something else then go back and move the disembarked unit. This is because the unit is classed as having moved for rules purposes, and you cannot move a unit a twice.

With the Valk the unit inside is classed as moving as per the FAQ, this means when the acting normally part of the rules kicks in it cannot move again as it has moved already.


Why do you think they are moving again?

Page 3 40k Battle Primer wrote:Start your Movement phase by picking one of your units and moving each model in that unit until you’ve moved all the models you want to. You can then pick another unit to move, until you have moved as many of your units as you wish. No model can be moved more than once in each Movement phase


You are not selecting the embarked unit to move when you move the Valk...

"count as also having moved" is not the same as actually selecting the embarked unit to move and then physically moving the models in the unit as far as the rules are concerned.

So you can move the models after they disembark as you are not moving them twice, you are only moving them once. You are moving the Valk once, but that has nothing to do with the embarked unit. the now-disembarked unit does "count as also having moved" but since they actually moved this does not matter at all.

Edit: Cleared up some weird wording.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 13:41:15


 
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Dadavester wrote:
To be honest having read the disembarking rules again I rescind the "you cannot disembark, move a different unit then go back and move the disembarked unit," comment, as the disembark rule states "if you do not move the unit further in your movement phase." So having moved for rules purposes doesn't kick in until the end of the movement phase. I had not taken that part into account when typing that so admit I was in error.

However i still feel my interpretation of the moving after disembarking a moving transport is correct. The FAQ states

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The unit does not lose the "counts as moved" status because it has disembarked, i cannot see any rule to that affect. The only rule we have is that units inside a transport that have moved, are also counting as having moved. Disembark rules do not contradict this and only give you permission for the unit to act normally.

If you can show me a rule that does i will happily admit I am wrong.

Edit: removed a word.


Why do you think they are moving again?

They did not move, you moved their transport. The unit inside only "count as also having moved" Which is not the same as actually moving the dudes inside since you don't actually move the dudes inside.

The valk moving makes the unit inside count as having moved. You then disembark them and keep moving the unit that was embarked. It is all one move, since you have to select a unit to move it per the BRB. And since you didnt select the unit (you only selected the Valk) then you are still free to select them and keep moving them that phase.
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The models are not inside so they are not affected by this FAQ.

Therefore the base rules apply about being able to act normally after disembarkation.

So they really only move once.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/08 21:52:09


 
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
A: Yes

The models are not inside so they are not affected by this FAQ.

Therefore the base rules apply about being able to act normally after disembarkation.

So they really only move once.


They were inside when the vehicle started moving, therefore they are affected by this FAQ.
False.

The models embarked inside it count as also having moved. So if they are still embarked they count as also having moved.

But, it hasn't actually been moved that turn, so it can be selected to move as per the rules for disembarking.
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: