Switch Theme:

Who Fights First? Heroic Intervention on a unit that didn't charge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Scenario: Oathkeeper Black Templar warlord with a 6" heroic intervention range charges an infantry squad and fights one round of combat. The infantry squad then retreats 5" away. The Black Templar warlord does a heroic intervention on the infantry squad, during the opposing players charge phase, locking the infantry squad back up in combat. Here's the question, because the infantry squad didn't charge, do they get to fight? If so, who fights first? Is it the infantry squad, because it is that players turn? Or is it the Black Templar Warlord due to heroic intervention?

I believe that that the infantry squad is allowed to attack, and will in fact attack first, because I cannot find anything in any errata to suggest otherwise. Help me out to clear this up, thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/15 13:19:30


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






How are you heroic interventioning an unengaged unit?


You can only use heroic intervention if an enemy unit ends its charge within range of a character (or unit with heroic intervention ability).


As far as who goes first, heroic intervention does nothing to change the normal fight order.

Player who's turn it is picks a charging unit and swings, then opponent can either interrupt, or if he has units that always swing first can pick one of them. Players alternate this way.

After all units that have charged or go first have swung, player who's turn it is picks a non-charging unit that is engaged to swing, and then the other player picks an engaged unit.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The bit about using HI on a unit that charged is incorrect, you can use it on any unit that ends up within 3" (6" with oathkeeper BT warlord/all space wolf characters).

RAW- After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your CHARACTERS that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention.

It isn't saying you have to target a charging unit, just that you have to do it at the end of the opponents charge phase. I agree with what your saying for the rest though. The character performs a heroic intervention, then the opponent player would attack with the infantry squad first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/15 13:39:24


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Waelfwulf wrote:Scenario: Oathkeeper Black Templar warlord with a 6" heroic intervention range charges an infantry squad and fights one round of combat. The infantry squad then retreats 5" away. The Black Templar warlord does a heroic intervention on the infantry squad, during the opposing players charge phase, locking the infantry squad back up in combat. Here's the question, because the infantry squad didn't charge, do they get to fight? If so, who fights first? Is it the infantry squad, because it is that players turn? Or is it the Black Templar Warlord due to heroic intervention?

I believe that that the infantry squad is allowed to attack, and will in fact attack first, because I cannot find anything in any errata to suggest otherwise. Help me out to clear this up, thanks!


It depends on the situation. Any units that charged fight first. Then the player whose turn it is chooses a unit to fight with first. If there is another unit already in CC, and he chooses that unit, you can choose your BT warlord to fight next, because players alternate choosing eligible units to fight with. If the unit you HI into with your BT warlord is the only unit in CC, then yes, they fight first.

Eihnlazer wrote:How are you heroic interventioning an unengaged unit?


You can always HI, even if your opponent didnt declare any charges.

BRB update 1.3 :

Q: Can you perform Heroic Interventions in your opponent’s
charge phase even if they did not declare any charges
that phase?
A: Yes.
Q: Can you ever perform a Heroic Intervention during your
own turn?
A: No.

   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Yeah I don't get to use it much so that slipped by me. It just sounded funny the way he said it.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: