Switch Theme:

Dark matter crystal  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

If you use Dark matter crystal to move a unit, can you then warptime the same unit in the psychic phase?

Ty in advance, RB

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





From FAQ Page, Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook (updated Sep 28/2018):

The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.).

Q: Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g. because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?

A: No.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/18 13:38:37


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

Yes I agree, however the unit being moved by the relic aren't reinforcements. They are already deployed in another area.

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




RB wrote:
Yes I agree, however the unit being moved by the relic aren't reinforcements. They are already deployed in another area.


Doesn't matter. They are still reinforcements. They just aren't tactical reserves, but the latter is irrelevant on whether you can warptime them or not.

If it is set up on the table for any reason after deployment, it meets the criteria of reinforcement. Once you removed the unit from the table via a relic (DMZ), spell (Da Jump, Gate of Infinity), stratagem (Upon Wings of Fire, Tide of Traitors) or innate ability (e.g. Swooping Hawks, Trygon, etc..), there are only two options: a) the unit is destroyed or b) the unit is set up again on the battle field, which automatically makes it reinforcements.

There are lots of things in the game that are "reinforcements" without necessarily being "tactical reserves". The examples above, units being summoned, models being added to a unit via abilities or stratagems (e.g. Poxwalkers, .). All of them and more are reinforcements, but most aren't tactical reserves.

Image from another thread.


[Thumb - Reinforcements.jpg]

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/12/18 14:46:53


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Oh Omnissiah not this again.

No, you cannot Warptime them because they were set up mid-turn, thus are reinforcements, and the FAQ says reinforcements cannot move further that turn other than for charging, pile in and consolidate.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Agreed, if a rule says your unit is set up they count as reinforcements. And reinforcements cant move for any reason.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




RB wrote:
If you use Dark matter crystal to move a unit, can you then warptime the same unit in the psychic phase?

Ty in advance, RB


It's a fair question RB. Still catches a lot of people out as it changed recently in a subtle way.

There used to be a FAQ stating that all units that were removed and set up again counted as reinforcements. This included the DMC and made warptime impossible.
The latest round of FAQs took this line out. So we revert back to first definitions.
It's clear from the reinforcements rule that it applies to units being set up onto the battlefield from reserve. So there is no problem With casting warptime on a unit which has already been deployed and is moving via DMC.


(Obviously this is hotly contested, so always worth asking your opponent... )

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Captyn_Bob wrote:
It's clear from the reinforcements rule that it applies to units being set up onto the battlefield from reserve. So there is no problem With casting warptime on a unit which has already been deployed and is moving via DMC
The rule says no such thing, it only says set up mid turn, it doesn't mention anything about reserves.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/18 19:46:40


 
   
Made in ca
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Captyn_Bob wrote:


It's a fair question RB. Still catches a lot of people out as it changed recently in a subtle way.

There used to be a FAQ stating that all units that were removed and set up again counted as reinforcements. This included the DMC and made warptime impossible.
The latest round of FAQs took this line out. So we revert back to first definitions.
It's clear from the reinforcements rule that it applies to units being set up onto the battlefield from reserve. So there is no problem With casting warptime on a unit which has already been deployed and is moving via DMC.


(Obviously this is hotly contested, so always worth asking your opponent... )


Please show evidence for the bolded. There is no such stipulation in the Reinforcements section.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Captyn_Bob wrote:

It's clear from the reinforcements rule that it applies to units being set up onto the battlefield from reserve. So there is no problem With casting warptime on a unit which has already been deployed and is moving via DMC.


Below is the reinforcements section from the core rules. Any unit arriving from reserves is set up mid-turn, thus they are reinforcements, and they cant move for any reason. If a rule allows redeployment of a unit during the game (DMC, da jump.....), and the rule says the unit is set up, they are reinforcements, thus they cant move for any reason.

Spoiler:
Reinforcements
Many units have the
ability to be set up on
the battlefield mid-turn,
sometimes by using
teleporters, grav chutes or
other, more esoteric means.

Typically, this happens at
the end of the Movement
phase, but it can also
happen during other
phases. Units that are set
up in this manner cannot
move or Advance further
during the turn they arrive
– their entire Movement
phase is used in deploying
to the battlefield – but they
can otherwise act normally
(shoot, charge, etc.) for the
rest of their turn. Units that
arrive as reinforcements
count as having moved in
their Movement phase for
all rules purposes, such as
shooting Heavy weapons.
Any unit that has not
arrived on the battlefield by
the end of the battle counts
as having been destroyed.




   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




Captyn_Bob wrote:
RB wrote:
If you use Dark matter crystal to move a unit, can you then warptime the same unit in the psychic phase?

Ty in advance, RB


It's a fair question RB. Still catches a lot of people out as it changed recently in a subtle way.

There used to be a FAQ stating that all units that were removed and set up again counted as reinforcements. This included the DMC and made warptime impossible.
The latest round of FAQs took this line out. So we revert back to first definitions.
It's clear from the reinforcements rule that it applies to units being set up onto the battlefield from reserve. So there is no problem With casting warptime on a unit which has already been deployed and is moving via DMC.


(Obviously this is hotly contested, so always worth asking your opponent... )


It's not.

The rules for reinforcement are identical ever since the 8th edition BRB was printed. A unit set up (for any reason, reserves or otherwise) after deployment is reinforcements, period. There is, to my knowledge, no way to set up a unit post-deployment and not having it be reinforcements. Likewise, as per the very first printed version of the BRB, these reinforcements aren't allowed to move by any other means save charge and pile-ins.

That rule is unchanged from the very first second the 8th Edition rulebook hit stores, despite the fact that it was widely played incorrectly until an early 2017 FAQ highlighted this rule.

But RAW, there was never a single second in the history of 8th Ed. where it was ever legal to Deep Strike or DMC or Tide of Traitors, etc.. AND Warptime. It was always an incorrect play if you read the rules correctly, even though it was widely done in early and mid 2017 and many people incorrectly just took it as the way things are.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/18 21:25:00


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





short answer is no, like some has said above.

look at it this way for those that can not comprehend the rules. none of the major tournaments allow you to warptime after dmc.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Are relics like dark matter crystal or spells like Da Jump still able to do so on the first turn? or because they are considering reinforcements and being redeployed that is not the case?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Slagmar wrote:
Are relics like dark matter crystal or spells like Da Jump still able to do so on the first turn? or because they are considering reinforcements and being redeployed that is not the case?
You can Da Jump and DMC T1 now because they changed how the rule works, the rule now doesn't care about being reinforcements, it cares about where you deploy.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




This might be a stupid thought but I haven't been able to figure out as to why disembarking wouldn't count as arriving as reinforcements. If some kind soul could point me in the right direction I would be grateful.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Gidun wrote:
This might be a stupid thought but I haven't been able to figure out as to why disembarking wouldn't count as arriving as reinforcements. If some kind soul could point me in the right direction I would be grateful.
Strictly speaking, they are, but they have special exemptions to allow them to move that movement phase.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Spoiler:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Gidun wrote:
This might be a stupid thought but I haven't been able to figure out as to why disembarking wouldn't count as arriving as reinforcements. If some kind soul could point me in the right direction I would be grateful.
Strictly speaking, they are, but they have special exemptions to allow them to move that movement phase.


I reckon it says so under the transport tab in the book then? Thanks in advance, I'll check it out when I get home.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: