Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 00:33:07
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Implacable Determination (Warlord Trait)
"When your Warlord and a single friendly unit within 3" of them Advances, they may both add 6" to their Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice."
'Move! Move! Move!' (Order)
"Instead of shooting this phase the ordered unit immediately moves as if it were the Movement phase. It must Advance as a part of this move, and cannot declare a charge during this turn."
I have three questions:
1) Does Implacable Determination affect units that Advance with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
2) Does the Warlord have to issue Move! Move! Move!' to himself in order to enable the effect?
3) Can the "single unit" in the Movement phase apply to a different "single unit" in the Shooting phase?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 02:58:27
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
4) Does Implacable Determination even work since you have to pick a unit, declare it will Advance, and then move it before you can pick another unit and declare it will Advance?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 03:22:23
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
This is a good question too. Advancing does not occur simultaneously. So there seems to be an implied "memory" during the phase. Which makes me think the answers to my questions are yes, yes, yes.
A further addendum to #2 is that the Warlord may have to Advance BEFORE the unit does.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/20 03:24:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 03:25:17
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
It was obviously intended to work, but I think strictly RAW that it doesn't.
HIWPI the warlord would have to move first or it would not activate. This is because he is the trigger for the ability.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 05:26:02
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
HIWPI is pick the Warlord and one other unit within 6" and declare you are using Implacable Determination to Advance with them both. Then you can move them in either order.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 05:46:44
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
How about during Shooting phase? Would I order my Warlord and a nearby unit to MMM and declare that I am using Implacable Determination to Advance with them both?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 07:59:39
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Suzuteo wrote:How about during Shooting phase? Would I order my Warlord and a nearby unit to MMM and declare that I am using Implacable Determination to Advance with them both?
Implacable Determination
When your Warlord and a single friendly unit within 3" of them Advances, they may both add 6" to their Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice.
Move! Move! Move!
Instead of shooting this phase the ordered unit immediately moves as if it were the Movement phase. It must Advance as part of this move, and cannot declare a charge during this turn.
MMM is in the shooting phase. Implacable Determination only works in the movement phase. MMM does say "as if it were the Movement phase". Which means movement phase rules apply, but it isnt the movement phase. No, doesnt work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 08:11:47
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I agree, warlord trait would be active, but would have no effect as it will be the shooting phase, not the movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 08:41:18
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Wait, what? Isn't the entire reason why that clause is there is precisely because it is not the Movement phase? And really, if what you guys are saying is true, then many people have been playing the game terribly wrong. Automatically Appended Next Post: Okay, so I read some debates on the issue. It is super unclear! There are some FAQs and commentary that suggest it is the case, and some that suggest it is not. :( Automatically Appended Next Post: Here is the ruling most relevant to this example: Q: Can the Opportunistic Advance Stratagem be used when a unit is affected by the Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, the Overrun Stratagem, or the Mind Eater Warlord Trait? A: Yes in all cases. Please note the FAQ above regarding moving multiple times in a single phase. Opportunistic Advance 1 CP - Use this stratagem in the Movement phase when you roll the dice for an Advancing Kraken unit (other than a unit that can FLY). You can double the number you roll and add that total to their Move characteristic for that Movement phase, rather than following the normal rules for Advancing. Hive Commander: In each of your Shooting phases, you can pick one friendly <HIVE FLEET> unit within 6" of your Swarmlord. This unit can Move (and Advance, if you wish) as if it were the Movement phase instead of shooting. Overrun: 1CP - Use this Stratagem when any <TYRANIDS> unit destroys an enemy unit in the Fight phase and is not within 3″ of another enemy unit. Instead of consolidating, that unit can move and Advance as if it were the Movement phase. It cannot move within 1″ of an enemy unit when doing so. Mind Eater (WLT) Each time the Warlord slays an enemy Character in the Fight phase, choose a friendly <HIVE FLEET> unit within 3". At the end of the phase, that unit can move and Advance as if it were the Movement phase. In this example, the rules team explicitly shows three cases (a unit ability, stratagem, and WLT) where "as if it were the Movement phase" is equivalent to "in the Movement phase."
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/12/20 09:22:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/20 12:32:51
Subject: Does Implacable Determination stack with 'Move! Move! Move!'?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
edit - wrong thread!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/20 13:08:29
|
|
 |
 |
|