Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 16:58:38
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Can a platoon commander take a unit of bullgryn with him with this relic ?
|
A man's character is his fate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 17:05:29
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The Relic very clearly explains what units may accompany the officer. The second (third if you count the errata) sentence will answer your question. Page 138 of Codex Astra Copywritum. Unless it's an Officer without a <REGIMENT> keyword (I cannot off the top of my head think of any), you cannot take Bullgryn since Bullgryn do not have a <REGIMENT> keyword.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 17:07:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 17:43:04
Subject: Re:The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Actually, Bullgryn have Militarium Auxilia regiment, so your Militarium Auxilia character can bring them along, if such a thing existed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 17:52:50
Subject: Re:The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
alextroy wrote:Actually, Bullgryn have Militarium Auxilia regiment, so your Militarium Auxilia character can bring them along, if such a thing existed.
Militarium Auxilia is not a regiment. Designers Commentary wrote:Q: If I can choose a keyword for a unit, such as <Regiment> for Astra Militarum, could I choose that keyword to be, for example ‘Blood Angels’ or ‘Death Guard’? A: No. In the example above, ‘Blood Angels’ is a Chapter of the Adeptus Astartes and ‘Death Guard’ is a Legion of the Heretic Astartes – neither of which are Regiments of the Astra Militarum. And if you choose to play as Index FAQ applying to the codex (they don't but some people do for some reason): Index Imperium 2 FAQ wrote:Q: Are ‘Officio Prefectus’ and ‘Militarum Auxilla’ Regiments? I.e. could I choose for my Company Commander to replace his <Regiment> keyword with Militarum Auxilla? A: No.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 17:57:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 18:02:28
Subject: Re:The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
alextroy wrote:Actually, Bullgryn have Militarium Auxilia regiment, so your Militarium Auxilia character can bring them along, if such a thing existed.
From the Astra Militarum FAQ:
Page 138 – The Dagger of Tu’Sakh
Add the following sentence at the start of the rules text: ‘INFANTRY OFFICER model only.’
I didn't see any models with the MILITARUM AUXILLA, INFANTRY and OFFICER keywords as well as the aforementioned fact that MILITARUM AUXILLA is not a <REGIMENT>.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 18:06:21
Subject: Re:The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ghaz wrote: alextroy wrote:Actually, Bullgryn have Militarium Auxilia regiment, so your Militarium Auxilia character can bring them along, if such a thing existed.
From the Astra Militarum FAQ:
Page 138 – The Dagger of Tu’Sakh
Add the following sentence at the start of the rules text: ‘INFANTRY OFFICER model only.’
I didn't see any models with the MILITARUM AUXILLA, INFANTRY and OFFICER keywords as well as the aforementioned fact that MILITARUM AUXILLA is not a <REGIMENT>.
There is a bit of a "loophole" however. The rule says "The infantry unit must have the same <REGIMENT> keyword as the bearer if the bearer has one. If you somehow have an INFANTRY OFFICER without a <REGIMENT>, you could bring Bullgryns to accompany him or her.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 1819/01/16 20:01:43
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
The Officer of the Fleet has the officer keyword. Is Aeronautica Imperialis a regimental keyword?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:04:52
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Trickstick wrote:The Officer of the Fleet has the officer keyword. Is Aeronautica Imperialis a regimental keyword?
It is not. Good catch. I'm going to abuse utilise this intentionally written interaction in my next game. I just realised it doesn't limit you to ASTRA COPYWRITUM units either, an Officer of the Fleet can outflank any INFANTRY unit, e.g. a unit of Custodes, if they want! So, to sum it up: You can outflank some Bullgryns if you take an Officier of the Fleet, but a Platoon Commander cannot.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 20:10:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:12:35
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Trickstick wrote:The Officer of the Fleet has the officer keyword. Is Aeronautica Imperialis a regimental keyword?
It is not. Good catch. I'm going to abuse utilise this intentionally written interaction in my next game.
I just realised it doesn't limit you to ASTRA COPYWRITUM units either, an Officer of the Fleet can outflank any INFANTRY unit, e.g. a unit of Custodes, if they want!
Hmmm, I'm not too sure that it isn't a regiment. Mainly from:
If an ASTRA MILITARUM datasheet does not specify which regiment it is drawn from, it will have the <REGIMENT> keyword.
Codex pg 84.
So as the Officer of the Fleet does not have <regiment>, it must specify the regiment, with the only choice being Aeronautica Imperialis. The index FAQ is obsolete, and the designers' commentary is not really relevant. Is there another source that would address this?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:17:04
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Trickstick wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Trickstick wrote:The Officer of the Fleet has the officer keyword. Is Aeronautica Imperialis a regimental keyword?
It is not. Good catch. I'm going to abuse utilise this intentionally written interaction in my next game. I just realised it doesn't limit you to ASTRA COPYWRITUM units either, an Officer of the Fleet can outflank any INFANTRY unit, e.g. a unit of Custodes, if they want! Hmmm, I'm not too sure that it isn't a regiment. Mainly from: If an ASTRA MILITARUM datasheet does not specify which regiment it is drawn from, it will have the <REGIMENT> keyword. Codex pg 84. So as the Officer of the Fleet does not have <regiment>, it must specify the regiment, with the only choice being Aeronautica Imperialis. The index FAQ is obsolete, and the designers' commentary is not really relevant. Is there another source that would address this?
How do you know it's regiment isn't IMPERIUM? Show me the rule where it says Aeronautica Imperialis is equivalent to <REGIMENT>, the same way it does for MILITARUM TEMPESTUS on page 84. The fact that the rule exists for MILITARUM TEMPESTUS categorically proves that Aeronautica Imperialis cannot be a <REGIMENT>.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/26 20:17:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:26:44
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
BaconCatBug wrote:How do you know it's regiment isn't IMPERIUM? Show me the rule where it says Aeronautica Imperialis is equivalent to <REGIMENT>, the same way it does for MILITARUM TEMPESTUS on page 84. The fact that the rule exists for MILITARUM TEMPESTUS categorically proves that Aeronautica Imperialis cannot be a <REGIMENT>.
Using the same quote I provided. "If an ASTRA MILITARUM datasheet does not specify which regiment it is drawn from, it will have the <REGIMENT> keyword". There are datasheets with Imperium, Astra Militarum and <regiment> on them. As they have the <regiment> keyword, the other words cannot be regimental keywords, due to the fact that you can only have <regiment> if you don't have a regimental keyword.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:28:22
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
That isn't what the sentence is saying. And how do you know that IMPERIUM isn't a Regiment for that particular datasheet? You can't have it both ways. If you accept the Index FAQs as applying to the codex, there is your "intent" to go along with the written rules. "If an ASTRA MILITARUM datasheet does not specify which regiment it is drawn from, it will have the <REGIMENT> keyword". That means that anything that isn't drawn from a regiment won't have a Regiment keyword at all. There is a reason why the Space Marines Units rule has to list out the individual chapter keywords, because they aren't equivalent to <CHAPTER>.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 20:31:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:40:08
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
BaconCatBug wrote:That isn't what the sentence is saying. And how do you know that IMPERIUM isn't a Regiment for that particular datasheet? You can't have it both ways. If you accept the Index FAQs as applying to the codex, there is your "intent" to go along with the written rules.
There is a reason why the Space Marines Units rule has to list out the individual chapter keywords, because they aren't equivalent to <CHAPTER>.
The Imperium keyword can't have different meaning in different places. Keywords wouldn't function if that were the case. I know we are straying into silly RAW here, so I could turn it back on you. How do you know Aeronautica isn't a regiment? What even is a regimental keyword?
Eh, now that I look at it I think my argument has made Adeptus Ministorum, Cult Mechanicus, <forge world> and so on into regimental keywords. One of those 40k raw things that breaks a bit when you don't bend around it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:43:34
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Trickstick wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:That isn't what the sentence is saying. And how do you know that IMPERIUM isn't a Regiment for that particular datasheet? You can't have it both ways. If you accept the Index FAQs as applying to the codex, there is your "intent" to go along with the written rules. There is a reason why the Space Marines Units rule has to list out the individual chapter keywords, because they aren't equivalent to <CHAPTER>. The Imperium keyword can't have different meaning in different places. Keywords wouldn't function if that were the case. I know we are straying into silly RAW here, so I could turn it back on you. How do you know Aeronautica isn't a regiment? What even is a regimental keyword? Eh, now that I look at it I think my argument has made Adeptus Ministorum, Cult Mechanicus, <forge world> and so on into regimental keywords. One of those 40k raw things that breaks a bit when you don't bend around it.
A regimental keyword is one you replace <REGIMENT> with. A model such as Harker with just the CATACHAN keyword technically doesn't have <REGIMENT>, the same way as Calgar doesn't have <CHAPTER>. Luckily, you can't give Relics to named characters, so it's a moot point (and MILITARUM TEMPESTUS has a special rule saying it is a <REGIMENT> ).
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 20:46:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 20:50:54
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
Hmm, the idea of outflanking any imperial infantry unit is interesting. Extremely non-rai, but could be fun to pull for a laugh. Automatically Appended Next Post: BTW, my real life argument would be "Aeronautica Imperialis is in no way a regiment. It is a part of the Imperial Navy..." but that isn't exactly a rules argument.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/26 20:57:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/26 21:44:59
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
The rules tell us that Aeronautica Imperialis is not a Regiment by virtue of being listed under the ‘Advisors and Auxilia’ section on page 132 of Codex Astra Militarum.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/27 07:40:31
Subject: The Dagger of Tu’Sakh and Bullgryns
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
My favorite argument for Aeronautica Imperialis or whatever not being a regiment is saying "well, if that's a regiment with no specified doctrine, then I get to pick a doctrine for it, right?"
"Now all my flyers are Tallarn, have fun lads."
|
|
 |
 |
|