Switch Theme:

Terrax-Pattern Termite Assault Drill Rules Query.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




(Apologies if this has already been answered)
The way I'm interpreting "Subterranean Assault" is that you can set up up to 9" away from the enemy (turn 2 onwards) then disembark the models within (providing they are 9" away from the enemy) they can then follow the rules for disembarking, therefore move, shoot, charge etc as per the BRB.
I was hoping someone could confirm this as I'm hoping to use it as blight bombardment delivery method in an upcoming game.
Many thanks in advance.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Paranoimiac wrote:
(Apologies if this has already been answered)
The way I'm interpreting "Subterranean Assault" is that you can set up up to 9" away from the enemy (turn 2 onwards) then disembark the models within (providing they are 9" away from the enemy) they can then follow the rules for disembarking, therefore move, shoot, charge etc as per the BRB.
I was hoping someone could confirm this as I'm hoping to use it as blight bombardment delivery method in an upcoming game.
Many thanks in advance.
It arrives "At the end of any of your Movement phases". This is no different to Drop Pods or any other unit that arrives "At the end of any of your Movement phases", you can disembark, but you cannot move the disembarking unit (nor the Drill) any further that turn, because if you do then you didn't set up the Drill "At the end of any of your Movement phase".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/26 18:28:29


 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Ah, thank you. I completely missed that it's at the end of the movement phase, I thought it seemed too good to be true. Really wish I'd fact checked prior to purchasing one ; ) haha, oh well back to the drawing board.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Paranoimiac wrote:

The way I'm interpreting "Subterranean Assault" is that you can set up up to 9" away from the enemy...

Note that it's "... more than 9" away from any enemy..."

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The unit disembarking can still shoot and charge, as can the Termite. Termites are ace. >9” makes it tougher but you can still wreck face.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




When does disembarking take place during the movement phase? Am I reading your responses correctly when this is what I take away from them?:

1. Deploy the drill >9" away from enemy at end of phase
2. Disembark unit <3" from drill
3. Charge with disembarked unit in fight phase with >6" charge

Is this right or am I misunderstanding something?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Gidun wrote:
When does disembarking take place during the movement phase? Am I reading your responses correctly when this is what I take away from them?:

1. Deploy the drill >9" away from enemy at end of phase
2. Disembark unit <3" from drill
3. Charge with disembarked unit in fight phase with >6" charge

Is this right or am I misunderstanding something?
You have to disembark the unit more than 9" away as per the Subterranean Assault rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/27 01:31:16


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Aha, thanks. Just checked out the rules on forgeworld instead of battlescribe, it seems like the latter missed some info.

Still pretty neat delivery system for anything with icon of wrath. You wouldn't happen to know any shenanigans to reduce the required charge range in this particular case for csm?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The BattleScribe rules haven’t missed any info regarding disembarking and distances. It’s all there correctly.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Weird, for me there's a difference in wording between the hellforged termite and terrax-pattern termite assault drill. I even tried updating data to make sure. I'll sort out a couple of pictures of the different wordings when I get home (If I'm at all allowed to show such pictures, otherwise I'll type it down).

Or are we simply talking about the two different variants to begin with?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Gidun wrote:
Weird, for me there's a difference in wording between the hellforged termite and terrax-pattern termite assault drill. I even tried updating data to make sure. I'll sort out a couple of pictures of the different wordings when I get home (If I'm at all allowed to show such pictures, otherwise I'll type it down).

Or are we simply talking about the two different variants to begin with?


You're generally ok to show a specific part of a rule for clarification purposes, just don't show the whole datasheet.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The hellforged termite is not the terrax pattern assault drill. They are two different models, with different datasheets.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Spoiler:
 p5freak wrote:
The hellforged termite is not the terrax pattern assault drill. They are two different models, with different datasheets.


Yeah, it seems to boil down to me not reading the thread title close enough and assuming people were talking about the hellforged version. My bad.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: