Switch Theme:

Tau cyclic ion blaster  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Human Auxiliary to the Empire



Odenton, MD

Tau codex says ‘if you roll one or more hit rolls of 1, the bearer suffers a mortal wound after all of the weapon’s shots have been resolved’. Battscribe says ‘ if you ...., the bearer’s unit suffers....’. The same can be found for the Eight in the Chapter 2018 book. So if I have a squad of 3 xv8, all armed with 3 cyclic ion blasters and over charge them, I fire 18 shots and no matter how many 1’s I roll, the unit only takes 1 mortal wound?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






need2thump wrote:
Tau codex says ‘if you roll one or more hit rolls of 1, the bearer suffers a mortal wound after all of the weapon’s shots have been resolved’. Battscribe says ‘ if you ...., the bearer’s unit suffers....’. The same can be found for the Eight in the Chapter 2018 book. So if I have a squad of 3 xv8, all armed with 3 cyclic ion blasters and over charge them, I fire 18 shots and no matter how many 1’s I roll, the unit only takes 1 mortal wound?
Because the Errata changes it. Battlescribe is correct.

FAQ Main Hub: https://www.warhammer-community.com/faqs/?orderby=title&order=asc#items-warhammer-40000
T'au Errata: https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/warhammer_40000_tau_empire_en-1.pdf
Ghaz's sticky thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/736188.page

Also you suffer 1 wound for each weapon that rolls a 1. You need to roll each models shots separately or specify clearly which dice belong to which model if you fast roll them. In your example, each model can potentially cause 3 mortal wounds each, one for each CIB they are armed with. However, if only one model rolls three 1's for a single CIB, you'd only take 1 wound. Also remember you MUST allocate wounds to already wounded models. If you have three separate dudes cause 1 MW each, one model has to bite all three wounds, you cannot spread them (which is what the errata was fixing to begin with).

Broken Sig Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2018/12/27 19:33:29


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."


GW emails are inadmissible as evidence in a YMDC trial, you know that...

I mean... that’s gotta be a joke addition, right? Right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/27 20:19:48


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: