Switch Theme:

KOW Formations - Clash of Kings 2019  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultraviolent Morlock




SW London

Having been on a KoW hiatus, I've just picked up the CoK19 book.

While it contains plenty of formations, I can't find a section on how to use them.

So:
Can you include multiple formations in an army?
Can you duplicate formations?
Can a unit be in more than one formation?
Can you buy upgrades for units in formations, e.g. steed, ranged attack etc?
Are there any other rules or restrictions governing the use of formations?
How do formations interact with allies?

Thanks - I'd appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/19 16:32:17


 
   
Made in nl
Nervous Hellblaster Crewman





Good question! In the clash of kings 19 book the rules for formations have not been copied again from the clash 18 book.
I believe this is an honest omission, therefore I shall copy the clash 18 rules later today or tomorrow, is that okay?

My blog on Kings of War:

http://kingsofwarvince.business.blog 
   
Made in cz
Scarab with a Cracked Shell



Prague, Czechia

 Mark G wrote:
Having been on a KoW hiatus, I've just picked up the CoK19 book.
Can you include multiple formations in an army?
Can you duplicate formations?
Can a unit be in more than one formation?
Can you buy upgrades for units in formations, e.g. steed, ranged attack etc?
Are there any other rules or restrictions governing the use of formations?
How do formations interact with allies?

Just to answer your questions according to the CoK2018 supplement. In the order above:
- yes
- no
- no (seems obvious RAI but not written anywhere)
- yes
- you must be able to have all the required units in your army, e.g. be able to pick a hero (have unused hero slot)
- formations cannot be taken in the allied part of the army

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/04 14:06:14


 
   
Made in nl
Nervous Hellblaster Crewman





 Mark G wrote:
(.....)


Thanks for replying! This is indeed what I meant.
   
Made in gb
Ultraviolent Morlock




SW London

Thanks for the replies.

It all works how I'd have guessed - though bit of a shame they left it out of the book. I guess that they all knew how it worked so didn't notice its omission.

@Al Quds - Thank you for your answers. I haven't checked through to see if a unit is in more than one type of formation - I expect not.

@vince1248 - I'd still be interested in reading the exact wording if you have the time/don't mind. It would be good to have it up somewhere as anyone who gets into KoW this year is likely to have similar questions.
   
Made in gb
Ultraviolent Morlock




SW London

From the latest KoW FAQ:

Q:
Can I take multiple of the same formation?

A:
No, formations must adhere to the same selection
restrictions that were introduced in the Clash of
Kings 2018 book.

"With each formation you’ll see the units that make up
the formation and how much the formation costs to add
into your army. You’ll also see that when taken as a
formation, the units may receive a stat boost or special
ability. Where applicable this is applied to the entire
formation and is in play throughout the game (even if
one of the units in the formation is Routed). What’s
more, the units in a formation don’t have to be deployed
or stay alongside each other in order to grant the bonus,
unless specified otherwise.

Each formation is unique and therefore can only be
chosen once per army. You may not take formations as
Allies. All army composition rules still apply to the units
within a formation (i.e, if a formation contains, say, a
Hero, you must have an unused Hero slot available in
order to take the formation)."

AND

Q:
When do I score the points for the cost of a
formation?

A:
You must rout all of the units in the formation to
score the formation point cost. However you can still
get the points for routing each unit as normal.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/19 16:33:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: