Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/03 23:48:31
Subject: Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
So the other day I played ynnari for the first time, and after killing a unit I elected to soulburst and use the charge action to charge another unit. My opponent then claimed that I couldn't fight with my charging unit as it had already fought that phase. We couldn't find a definitive answer one way or the other so I just wondered if I'm missing something.
Cheers
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/03 23:48:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/03 23:51:16
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an
enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.
This includes all units, not just those controlled by the
player whose turn it is. All units that charged this turn
fight first. The player whose turn it is picks the order
in which these units fight. After all charging units have
fought, the players alternate choosing eligible units to
fight with (starting with the player whose turn it is) until
all eligible units on both sides have fought once each. No
unit can be selected to fight more than once in each Fight
phase. If one player runs out of eligible units, the other
player completes all of their remaining fights, one unit
after another. A fight is resolved in the following steps:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/03 23:54:21
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
You can fight again because the rules for Strength from Death say you can. Index Xenos 1 Errata wrote:"That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 00:00:59
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Strength from death says you can do one of the following, even if you have already done so in this turn. You can charge, or you can fight. You cant do both.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/04 00:01:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 00:07:10
Subject: Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
And fight is an option. "One of the following" means to pick one from the list. You can thus fight "even if you have already done so in this turn". That is how English works.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/04 00:07:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 00:09:25
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
But the TO didnt choose to fight. He chose to charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 00:10:28
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Oh, my bad I misread the question! In that case yeah it's clear you cannot fight because you already did so that turn. My apologies I thought it was just a matter of fighting again with the soulburst.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 00:12:47
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
So the charge action is basically useless then 99% of the time, unless.you fall back first. Fair play.
I did see that the faq says you resolve the consolidation first so actually I could have just consolidated, (avoiding overwatch) then soulbursted and fought again. Hmm. I guess the unit would also gain all its charging bonuses still since it charged "that turn".
Cheers guys
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/04 00:14:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/04 08:16:42
Subject: Re:Ynnari soulburst charge
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Bobug wrote:So the charge action is basically useless then 99% of the time, unless.you fall back first. Fair play.
I did see that the faq says you resolve the consolidation first so actually I could have just consolidated, (avoiding overwatch) then soulbursted and fought again. Hmm. I guess the unit would also gain all its charging bonuses still since it charged "that turn".
Cheers guys
Falling back and charging is probably exactly the reason to use it. That's a potentially very powerful ability.
Bare in mind if you charged this turn already you won't be able to Fight the unit you consolidated into unless you declared a charge against them too. Which means you must have started the Charge phase within 12" of them.
|
|
 |
 |
|