Switch Theme:

Shooting from a Stormlord firing deck at enemy within 1"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Clermont De L'Oise

Hi all.

I cannot for the life of me find anything in the rule book or in the Extended Firing Deck rule that disallows this. I know the Stormlord can but as far as I know, this is not passed onto the passengers.

Book and page numbers please

Vim

2811
650
750 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 vim_the_good wrote:
Hi all.

I cannot for the life of me find anything in the rule book or in the Extended Firing Deck rule that disallows this. I know the Stormlord can but as far as I know, this is not passed onto the passengers.

Book and page numbers please

Vim
"It doesn't say I can't" is not a valid argument. It also doesn't say I can't feed a kitten some tuna to automatically pass morale tests either. The rule gives you permission to shoot with "Up to 20 models being transported by a Stormlord". That being said, because the unit itself is not within 1" of an enemy, then they can fire as normal even if the Stormlord itself is. Unlike the Open-Topped rule found on other transports, it doesn't say "for example, the passengers cannot shoot [...] if this model is within 1" of an enemy unit". As you are given permission to shoot with the passengers, the Extended Firing Deck doesn't prohibit firing when the Stormlord is within 1" of an enemy unit, and the firing unit itself cannot possibly be within 1" of an enemy unit, you are permitted to fire.

BRB page 179 for the Shooting rules, Codex: Astra Copywritum page 124 for the Stormlord rules, Codex: Orks page 113 for an example of an Open-Topped rule that prohibits the embarked unit from firing when the transport is within 1" of an enemy.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/25 09:51:16


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

They can shoot because the extended firing deck rule says they can. The embarked models arent within 1" of an enemy model.
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Clermont De L'Oise

Thanks guys. That's kind of what I was thinking but wanted some validation.

2811
650
750 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Note that they can't target the enemy unit that is within 1", as they are still an invalid target for normal shooting and there's no exception as there is for the Stormlord's Heavy Bolters/Flamers.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stux wrote:
Note that they can't target the enemy unit that is within 1", as they are still an invalid target for normal shooting and there's no exception as there is for the Stormlord's Heavy Bolters/Flamers.
That's a very important point! It's similar to the as the Sporocyst's Bio-fortress rule, it can fire it's weapons even if enemies are within 1" of it, but enemies within 1" of it cannot normally be fired upon by anything (special exceptions notwithstanding).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/25 10:22:56


 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Clermont De L'Oise

Fair point. Thanks again guys.

2811
650
750 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: