Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 09:44:53
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
If this is legal can you point me in the direction of the rulebook to where? (monolith on ruins)
If not, can you also point me to where?
As you can see from poor old Bear looking up the rules it caused a bit of debate last week.....(I didnt think it was legal)
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 09:48:05
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Yes, it's legal. WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.3 wrote:Page 248 – Ruins Change the first paragraph of rules text to read: ‘Unless they can FLY, VEHICLES, MONSTERS, CAVALRY and BIKERS can only be set up or end their move on the ground floor of ruins.’
And because I know someone will nitpick, this is, of course, assuming you're using the rules for Ruins as laid out in the Core Rulebook of Warhammer 40,000 8th edition, the Monolith has sufficient Movement characteristic to reach the top of the ruin, there aren't any house rules in effect preventing it, etc. etc.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/25 09:49:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 09:53:09
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Great thank you!
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 09:53:29
Subject: Re:Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Agreed. The monolith can be set up there, and it can move up there because it has the FLY keyword.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 09:58:53
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Suppose I might as well get a few more future questions out of the way
In that situation there is no way to engage the lith in combat is there - except with another flier like a hive tyrant etc?
If that terrain piece was something other than ruins - say a bunker or a tower or a large (impassable) rocky outcrop - could Fliers also fly up to the top of them?
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 10:04:16
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Ratius wrote:Suppose I might as well get a few more future questions out of the way
In that situation there is no way to engage the lith in combat is there - except with another flier like a hive tyrant etc?
If that terrain piece was something other than ruins - say a bunker or a tower or a large (impassable) rocky outcrop - could Fliers also fly up to the top of them?
1.
If a unit cannot move such that its base is within 1" of the Monolith's then correct it cannot be engaged. Even flying units may not be able to get there if there's nothing to put their base on within 1".
2.
Depends on what the bunker is defined as. If it's terrain they probably can. If it's a fortification with a datasheet then it is a model and not terrain, and you can't put models on top of models.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/25 10:04:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 10:08:49
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ratius wrote:Suppose I might as well get a few more future questions out of the way  In that situation there is no way to engage the lith in combat is there - except with another flier like a hive tyrant etc? If that terrain piece was something other than ruins - say a bunker or a tower or a large (impassable) rocky outcrop - could Fliers also fly up to the top of them?
As confirmed by FAQ, if a model can't physically get within 1" of the Monolith's hull (it has to be hull, not the base due to the Monolith's Hovering rule), then they can't attack it. WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.3 wrote:Q: If a unit declares a charge against an enemy unit that is entirely on the upper level of a terrain feature such as a ruin, Sector Mechanicus structure, etc., but it cannot physically end its charge move within 1" of any models from that unit (either because there is not enough room to place the charging unit, or because the charging unit is unable to end its move on the upper levels of that terrain feature because of the expanded terrain rules for it – as with ruins, for example), does that charge fail? A: Yes.
It's stupid, but them's the rules and GW has said RaW = RaI. Fun RaW fact, if you put a Monolith on a tall enough flying base, it becomes totally immune to being charged by anything with a base. As for your second question, it depends what you mean by bunker. If you mean a building ala Planetstrike Bastions, then no because they are enemy models. If you mean just a raised hill like area that you've not defined any special rules for, then yes. There is no such thing as "impassible" terrain in 8th outside of house rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/25 10:09:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/28 23:28:18
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Ratius wrote:
Fun RaW fact, if you put a Monolith on a tall enough flying base, it becomes totally immune to being charged by anything with a base.
That model would use a base so you could measure from the base?
If you dont have a base you measure from the hull.
I know there are some modells which have bases and get measured from the hull and there are some which have a base but you cant get to te base because of the hull.
I must think about "That Guy" who said i cant get in 1inch of his spawns because their tentacels were in the way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/28 23:35:15
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. The Monolith's 'Hovering' rule states that the Monolith always measures from the hull, even though it has a base.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 08:01:52
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Once again, BaconCatBug, GW has never said RAW=RAI. Stop posting that nonsense. It’s just a lie.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 14:51:37
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 15:10:49
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
It's clearly RaI, but may not be RaW!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 15:46:51
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
I already cited the FAQ (which confirms the RAW) in the post you quoted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 18:03:12
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:I already cited the FAQ (which confirms the RAW) in the post you quoted.
Where in the FAQ does is say RAW = RAI?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 18:07:15
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Because GW have stated that the RaW is correct, therefore it is intended to work that way? I am saying in this specific instance RaW is the same as RaI.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/29 18:07:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 18:10:42
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Because GW have stated that the RaW is correct, therefore it is intended to work that way? I am saying in this specific instance RaW is the same as RaI.
No,sorry, you never had a "in this specific instance" above or, indeed, any other time you have said that RAW = RAI. If you're going to generally keep using this statement please show a reference for that applying generally, or when you use the statement always make sure to preface it with "in this instance".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 18:23:42
Subject: Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
And people say I have problems with "context".  A thousand pardons good sir.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/29 18:23:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/29 18:25:08
Subject: Re:Is this legal? (flyers and terrain)
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
most FAQ documents wrote:Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be.
GW have in fact, in almost all FAQ's, expressly stated that RAW does not always equal RAI. Very first sentence in many FAQ documents.
|
|
 |
 |
|