Switch Theme:

Redeployment before 1st turn - timing?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Guardsman with Flashlight



Germany

A question regarding the timing of redeployment.

There are several abilities like custodes relics or Tyranid warlord traits, that redeploy some units after finished deployment before first turn.

So my question is when do this happens? Before or after the size initiative roll?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Its unclear, unless the redeploy rule says something specific. The necron deceiver, for example, says : "At the beginning of the first battle round, but before the first turn begins, you can remove the C'tan Shard of the Deceiver and/or up to D3 other friendly NECRONS units from the battlefield, then set them up again more than 12" from any enemy models. If you do so, these units cannot charge in your first turn." This doesnt say if its before or after seizing the initiative.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





the rules usually say "at the start of th game but before the first turn begins..."

so you need to know who is going first before starting the game ... so it's after seize etc.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






"before the first turn begins" can be after you've rolled to seize, so it's legal to do so after rolling to seize.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Wouldn't you then roll off for whether to do the strat or the sieze first?

And, because you must roll off, wouldn't you thus need to decide on whether to use the strat before the sieze?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Bharring wrote:
Wouldn't you then roll off for whether to do the strat or the sieze first?

And, because you must roll off, wouldn't you thus need to decide on whether to use the strat before the sieze?


Seizing happens as part of determining who goes first. There's no roll off because seize will happen first.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: