Switch Theme:

custodes relic question "the castellan's mark"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi there

In the codex custodes at page 77 the relic "the castellan's mark" rules are :

If the bearer is on the battlefield, at the beginning of the game but before the first turn you can remove them and up to one friendly ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit within 6" of them from the battlefield and set them up again following the mission rules. You must set them up on the battlefield.

So, what if the bearer is in a land raider does he bring the raider with him ? Do you leave the tank behind and only move the character ?

What if one friendly ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit within 6" is a fully loaded orion ? Do you empty the orion and only move the plane ?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






sabarslax wrote:
Hi there

In the codex custodes at page 77 the relic "the castellan's mark" rules are :

If the bearer is on the battlefield, at the beginning of the game but before the first turn you can remove them and up to one friendly ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit within 6" of them from the battlefield and set them up again following the mission rules. You must set them up on the battlefield.

So, what if the bearer is in a land raider does he bring the raider with him ? Do you leave the tank behind and only move the character ?

What if one friendly ADEPTUS CUSTODES unit within 6" is a fully loaded orion ? Do you empty the orion and only move the plane ?
If the bearer is in a Land Raider they are, by definition, not on the battlefield.

Regarding the Orion, the unit would remain embarked. However since other codexes tend to explicitly state this it might not be the case by default. The codex doesn't pretend to work properly with Forge World Rules, and Forge World Rules are so poorly written you're making up stuff regardless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/29 17:13:38


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I dont think im making stuff up. The rules in the codex are not clear so im asking. Id like to know how people from over here would aply the rules. Thats all. Im not trolling.

The orion in the exemple could have been a land raider and it would be the same question... no obscure FW ruling there.

I think embarked in a transport is deployed on the battlefield. In reserve is another story.

So ...

If i have a shield captain with "the castellan mark" relic inside a land raider thats 6" from another loaded custodes landraider ... what happen???

It would be cool to redeploy the whole damn army for sure.

   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It definitely doesn't work sorry!

This isn't an edge case or anything, we know for definite that the game treats models in a transport as not on the Battlefield.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Look at the Transports section. For embarking it states "remove the unit from the battlefield and set it to one side" That means the unit isn't treated as being on the battlefield while in the transport.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




rgr thanks for the clarification
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: